Less than a month left!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Kirkland
December 26th 2008
Published: December 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I've safely moved back to Washington with my parents for the month before I leave. There is so much to do! Yet right now I'm just enjoying the time I have with my family. I'm happy to be able to spend Christmas with them. I've been frequently emailing a lady named Christine who is a teacher at the Molly and Paul High School, where I will be teaching, and she has been very helpful with preparing me for my time in Uganda. Also, the first week of school or so, there will be a "Culture Week" where the students get to show me things about their culture and I get to show them bits of mine. This should prove to be some interesting fun. Christine and I quickly became kindred spirits via email as we discovered that we both are big Jane Austin fans. She was also nice enough to send me pictures of the school.

Next week I will send for my visa. Hopefully there will be enough time! Also I've got all my shots- including the all important yellow fever vaccine. I discovered that I am one of the 20% of the population that has mild adverse side-effects to this vaccine- which included a big headache, nausea, general malaise, and a big, sensitive bruise on your arm! Lucky for me it only lasted 3 days instead of the 5-10 days the CDC was predicting.

I wanted to thank everyone who has contributed to supporting my trip over to Uganda and the Molly and Paul foundation! Beginning of next week I will be able to transfer the funds they need to buy a new printer/copier! This is very important for their school, as their last one broke down right before their final examinations and they were forced to pay to get their paper exams produced elsewhere, which, as I understand, was costly.

Please continue to pray for the health and safety of the people of Uganda, especially the thousands of children in Molly and Paul's care.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb