Summer Staff Reunion Round-up


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Gig Harbor
December 23rd 2008
Published: January 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm writing this in the Dallas/Ft. Worth airport. I missed my flight to Columbia. I went to the gate I thought I heard the airline attendant call out on the flight from Seattle, and didn't check a thing. Luckily, I'm still getting out today, but I won't be home probably until about 6 pm. I have to keep reminding myself that I have nothing to complain about in comparison to all I have to be thanksful for.

Anyway, so hear is a recap of how the end of trip went in Gig Harbor. Nothing happened....That's not true, it snowed, a lot. We stayed in all day Saturday afternoon after returning from Portland, and then Sunday, and Monday. It finally stopped snowing Sunday night after we got about 12 inches of snow. Me, Chris, and his brother, Matthew, did go on a walk Sunday, and I took some pictures. I didn't mind not doing anything, considering how busy we were in Portland. I would have liked to see Seattle, but it's not the end of the world. I just enjoyed spending time with Chris. Its hard when you have close friends and they are spread out all across the country. On the way to the airport, we had a good discussion, mostly about our spiritual lives; I just hope something stuck and God used me to tug on Chris's heart.

So now I sit in the airport, alone. Traveling can be very lonely, or at least in my case. I'm between two worlds; I'm feeling down because I had to say goodbye to some people in my life, yet at the same time I'm glad I'm returning to loved ones at home. "It's a bittersweet symphony, that's life." Now with my delayed return, I only feel more depressed. I must cling to the Gospel, constantly reminding myself that Christ never lets go, He is all that satisfies, and He is always with me. I am never truly alone. Part of me doesn't think I'll be ready to leave this Saturday for two weeks in Bogota. I start doubting my plan, thinking I didn't leave enough time. But God is in control, and He has a plan that I don't see.

I think the biggest thing He is teaching me through these trips is that it's not easy to just leave home. I miss my friends and family and being a part of their lives. It's good preparation for Africa, which in turn will be good if God does end up calling me to mission work, whether its for my whole life or only part. Well, now it's time to organize playlists, and do other random activities to pass the time. I'll call some friends.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb