Finally, a real European vacation


Advertisement
Published: June 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

We're getting ready to go on a real almost-month-long vacation in Europe (mostly Germany). I've never taken this much time off of work before, and I'm a bit nervous about that. I've never spent this much time out of the United States, and I'm also a bit nervous about that. I've also never spent this much money on a trip before, and I'm pretty nervous about that, too, but trying not to think about it. The cast of characters for this trip are Laura (daughter), Barbara (wife), Joe (wife's other man/additional partner/boyfriend/whatever), Cheryl (my sweetheart/additional partner), and myself.

First stop is Hamburg, where our dear friends live and whom we have not seen since, well, a long time ago when they came to visit Seattle. Also, Laura is already there, and will be staying for the summer (except for a bit of travel with the family in July).

From the outside looking in, it's probably going to be a weird trip, because we're all going to Hamburg first, but after a week there, Laura, Barbara, and Joe will be heading to England, and Cheryl and I will be heading to Berlin. Laura had a choice to go either direction, but she's seen all the Germany we're going to see already, so she opted for England , where they will be seeing Bath, Avebury, Glastonbury, Salisbury, and finally London. Cheryl and I, on the other hand, are going to see much of eastern Germany with stops in Berlin, Leipzig, Dresden and finishing off in Prague.

So, I'm packing today, getting everything just so, and hoping I haven't forgotten anything, except outside of prescriptions, I'm pretty sure Germany has places where one can give them euros in exchange for goods and services, so I think I'm just not going to worry about it.

Watch this space for exciting new developments, photos, and maybe even a video or two.

Advertisement



8th July 2014

World Travelers
You will love your trip. It will change you and .... you'll want more.

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb