late night thoughts


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Buckley
October 11th 2008
Published: October 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, as many of you may know I'm gearing up to travel the world, leaving next October. I have gotten some mixed responses but an overwhelming consensus of amazement. I am taking nothing more than a backpack and the air in my lungs to see the world. I have a list of places that intrigue me and I want to experience what they have to offer. I guess I'm just unsure why more people don't travel. Is it fear? Is it lack of confidence in one's self? What? I want to know why people say "I could never do what your doing." It's really not that hard, if you want to do something then make it happen. You only have one life and instead of being 80 saying "I wish I would've..." why not say "I had a good life, full of adventure."???

I can't wait to meet other travelers along my journey and see what their motives for traveling are. I also am so excited to share my experiences with ya'll here at home. If you have any suggestions of places to go or things to see while I'm trekking the Earth, feel free to share! I would love to hear about the time you went to the Eiffel Tower or on a safari.

I'm starting this grand journey in Europe. My original plan was to fly into Ireland but Ireland in October is much like Washington State in December (or worse). Not so fun. Instead I am thinking of going to Italy or Greece first since their winters near the Mediterranean are much like a Washington spring or even summer (you know, mid to high 70s)! That way I don't have to pack a ton of winter clothes (which I don't need the extra weight in my pack). After the Mediterranean I am thinking of heading to Spain and Portugal then north to France, Switzerland, Germany, Austria, etc. But its hard to say where my feet and maybe heart will take me!

I honestly do not mind sleeping in a room of people at a hostel or wearing the same clothes 2 days in a row. These are only small sacrifices when you see what I am doing with the life I've been given. These are all part of the experience and adventure. I feel that reaching out to people all over the world is something that everyone should discover, even if it is just traveling within your own country. There are so many things to be learned from one another. I think when I decided to travel I was definitely traveling away from, rather than to something. My reasons have changed over time. I just love the adventure of not knowing where I'll be in 12 months time.

A quote that always stays with me is:

"What you've done becomes the judge of what you're going to do - especially in other people's minds. When you're traveling, you are what you are right there and then. People don't have your past to hold against you. No yesterdays on the road." - William Least Heat Moon

I love that while traveling, you are the person you are today. It doesn't matter where you were yesterday or what you did a year ago. Living for the moment and taking one step at a time is the essence of travel. I love to be impulsive and here at home sometimes that is looked down upon. Switching jobs, moving, these are things that others find unstable. But the only constant in travel is change so I think it is perfect for me. I love that.

I'm not ready for things like a family and mortgage yet. Those aren't bad things, they just aren't for me at this point in time. Right now I just want my feet, heart and curiosity to guide me. I am not leaving to look for something or find myself, it's more than that. I am traveling to see what the world has to offer me and maybe even better, what I can give back to the world and the people all over this great planet.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb