Prepare for the X-Ray


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Bellingham
August 6th 2011
Published: May 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today is the day I cross the border into Canada to attend Siggraph.

I spent most of it preparing for the experience.

I’m rather afraid of the border patrol.

They have the right to search everything brought over the border, including all electronics.

The internet is filled with horror stories of people losing valuable equipment for months just become an officer thought there was something suspicious on it.

I figure crossing the border almost four thousand miles from my home will be reason enough for extra scrutiny.



I ultimately went through my entire car, pulling out everything I could find.

A traveler accumulates a surprising amount of junk on a long trip!

I divided it into four piles.

The first was stuff I knew I wanted to bring across.

Clothes fell in this category, as did books, along with my tent and sleeping stuff.

The second part was trash that had no identifying information on it, mostly old brochures but also receipts and the like.

The third part was trash that did have identifying information, such as credit card receipts.

This trash can be used for identity theft, so it needs more careful handling.



Finally, there were problematic items.

Canadian customs is very difficult with anything that remotely looks like a weapon, including bear spray and any sort of knife.

American customs ran the risk of seizing my computer, which I’m really dependent on to run my trip.

I ultimately decided that bringing this stuff with me was not worth the hassle.

Searching online, I found a cheap storage locker for the week and left items there.

I mailed the credit receipts and the like home, and threw out the other trash.

Car prepared, off I go.



Crossing into Canada, the preparation was worth it.

I was sent to the extra processing line, but not for being four thousand miles away.

Canada requires travelers to have proof of significant funds to enter the country, to prevent people leeching off social services.

For anyone on a long road trip, that requirement is automatically in question.

I ultimately proved to the immigration officers that my supply of trip funds is sufficient, but it was a struggle.

I had to hand over my camera and phone.

They verified my conference attendance paperwork, and likely checked my hotel reservations.

Immigration officers also searched my car, to within an inch of its life.

They finally let me through on the condition that I sign a visit permit agreeing to leave the country in a week.

I’m now really afraid of what I’ll face on the return.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 31; qc: 97; dbt: 0.1798s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb