Repairs are done


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
April 25th 2014
Published: June 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 37.7188, -76.4561

This morning, I tackled the davit repair. The metal was bent and twisted and I was not able to straighten it with a sledge hammer. I had about decided that I would need to see if a local body shop would have the tools to straighten the bent and twisted end if the bar.

Then, I had the brilliant idea to drive my truck over the bent end of the bar. I then had enough leverage, along with the Herculean strength, to pull the bend out of the bar. I then repositioned the truck on the bar and used a long monkey wrench to take out the bend. A few more whacks with the sledge hammer, and I was able to get everything lined back up.

I did have to make a run to the local hardware store to get stainless steel bolts, and by 9:30 am, I had everything put back together.

The weather forecast was still indicating shows and thunderstorms this afternoon, so we decided to stay put today. The wind did kick up around 1:00, but it is now 3:20 pm and it is still nice out.

We will see what tomorrow brings!


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



25th April 2014

Seems like duct tape woulda worked, no?

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb