Virginia October 19-26, 2012


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
December 19th 2012
Published: December 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Virginia Oct 19-29, 2012


Lake AnnaLake AnnaLake Anna

Lake Anna from the dock.
I went down to visit my friend Sue. She was formally employed where I currently work. She has always said that her spare bedroom will always be ready to be occupied by me. I have spoken with her in terms of travel nursing. If and when I can get down there with a contract I will be able to use her address to obtain a state license. With ongoing work at my full time position, my per diem position, and my BSN classes it is a little difficult to get down there for a driver's license. You do not need a DL to obtain a VA license; however, upon reading further you do need a permanent address to obtain a VA license with compact status. For those that do not know a compact license for nursing can take you to about 24 states without much of an issue. So I have put it out to the agencies that I am looking for VA or Washington DC as my first position but I am not necessarily set on it. Meaning if something comes up somewhere else, I'm open to take it.

Sue took time off from work (which she did not have to do) and I appreciated it. She lives in a Lake Anna community . Talk about reminding me of my home state and being at the cabins 'up north' in Minnesota. Surely it made me miss 'home'.

Every other day we did something away from the lake.

October 21-we went into Shenandoah National Park. This follows that Appalachian Trail and it part of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We travelled the "Skyline Drive" and we got there pretty early, which was excellent planning because by the time we left there was a line up to gain access to the park. The park was actually man-made prese. Trees were brought in to be planted. We drove and stop at many places along the way, including Dark Hollow Falls. Which may only look like a 0.7 mile hike but it was steep and well lets face it, I am not in good shape. But myself and Sue made it there and back. On our way back we looked at some of the other hikers and we made comments "they are not going to make it". If you plan to visit and hiking is not in your background, I would recommend a hiking stick which can be found along the way. On our way back to Lake Anna, we stopped at the Stonefire Kitchen . A very nice lovely, reasonably priced sandwiches. It was in the middle of no where though.

October 23-Jamestown. We visited Jamestown in large part because of my History class. I wanted to see it. If and when I am around the area again, I will be sure to visit Williamsburg area as well. We just stopped at the Jamestown museum site and I know there was much more to see in that area.

October 24-we stayed around Lake Anna and Sue's daughter came over with her little one. Poor guy was initially having difficulty feed...perhaps a lactose issue. But he seemed to be doing better. We went out for lunch at Tim's at Lake Anna. Beautiful scenery. The weather was gorgeous. We went with the outdoor seating. There were some that drove up in their boat or jet ski for lunch. Under the patio there was water toy rentals. I took a stroll to the docks and I came upon a young turtle sunbathing, and in another area and larger one doing the same.

October 25-we went into DC on the metro. We walked the National Mall and than made our way to the Holocaust Museum . :-( Such a tragedy but I believe we must honor their memories and learn of the hideous, unthinkable, unmanageable event by a self-righteous asshole. I cannot phantom, with any bone in my body, to treat any living being in such a manor. I cannot wrap my head around it. No mater how many stories I read, no matter how many pictures I see...nothing can wrap my head around it and it was all stemmed from outright brainwashing lies. Unthinkable.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb