Supper in DC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Washington
February 19th 2014
Published: February 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Outside the Lincoln MemorialOutside the Lincoln MemorialOutside the Lincoln Memorial

It was a lot sunnier than it looks.
Oh say - can you see all the sights in D.C. – in one day? Well, if you walk like a demon in between metro stations and don’t mind whistle-stop stops, then yeah, mostly. We set out after a mammoth breakfast fairly early so were both ‘stoked’ and ‘psyched’ to see the famous monuments. We packed in Abe, Korea, Pacific, the obelisk and Capitol Building. We were quite smug. I’d been excited to see the pool of reflection at Abe’s memorial because of the scene that features it in X-men: First Class. I’m such a nerd.

What with all the walking and appreciating, by six we were famished again and ventured out to seek succour. We found a hip looking spot called Gordon Biersch and rounded on it hungrily. Now, let’s be clear, me and my rents are happening cats, we can blend in anywhere, but my sis-in-law’s American, so we let her take the lead with the server. Who am I kidding, we three Brits stand out like a tea cosy in a cheeseburger. But we’d been in the US a while, so we were prepared to go balls-out with our last supper in D.C.

We shared sweet potato fries to start and then I had Creole Chicken while my bro one-upped me with a Kobe Black-and Bleu Burger. Typical. However, he’d run himself out early and couldn’t manage pud, so I retook the lead. I ordered warm apple bread pudding with pecans, vanilla ice cream and whiskey sauce. I can’t begin to describe how epic it was. It made the rest of the meal seem like Oliver Twist style gruel. I briefly drifted into Nirvana.

The sugar rush hit me like a lamppost to the bridge of the nose and I got high. The others were doing vacation-like things such as making conversation and ordering more drinks so didn’t notice my absence. I gung-ho-ly thought I’d be able to finish the lot but this was America, and the portion was big enough for two. Did that stop me? Nope. I ploughed on with stiff upper lip type grit until my sugar levels reached diabetic proportions and my blood turned into Kool Aid. I had created what some people call a ‘food baby’.



It was a relief when we staggered out of the joint and into the cool night air of the street. The walk from the metro that had earlier seemed unfortunately drawn out now felt refreshing, even if some of the streets now seemed somewhat less than salubrious. It was fairly late by then to be fair. I’ve no idea how I got to sleep that night as my body battled its own glucose levels and everyone else snored. We all did though, and we left town the next day with a special place in our hearts (and arteries) for D.C.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb