Culture overdose


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Washington
March 21st 2011
Published: March 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Second day in the capitol I planned to take it easy, relax a bit and move whenever I felt like it to the capitol building(the only monumental object left after yesterdays tourist-madness) and a museum or two(they have like 20 on a couple of blocks).
So it happened as was planned, got up at ten-ish, did some internet stuff and then set out for lunch and some culture-soaking afterwards.

Firstly I intended to visit the National Archives, a museum like building(it also holds, u would never guess, archives of like all emigration and business-documents) which holds exhibits of pieces like the declaration of independence and all those fancy important documents, the war between the Union(north) and Confederates(south), and the more important presidents.
As a second I picked the National Museum of Natural History, which is a museum on the history of the US.
I ended up spending the hour an half I was in there in the exhibits on the wars of the US throughout the years and the one of all the president and what it is what they do and yadeyade.
Which I enjoyed actually, there turned out to be many more presidents then I had ever heard of and some really cool ones too.

The walk to the capitol building and reflecting pool(I wonder who came up with that name...) was nice as it was on a big stretch of grass, walk paths and three-lanes between the Washington monument(that huge pillar) and the capitol building … and the sun was shining 😊 (I think I'm getting a tan.. sadly a red one though).
And well the reflecting pool was what you would expect it to be, a pool .. which kinda reflects the light like all water does.
The capitol building was nice, big and beautiful like only big buildings can be.
Now that I mention it, pretty much all buildings in DC are like that, big with pillars and white.
And the funny part is, the white house is actually one of the smallest around..

After dinner I went to the hostel and started writing this entry amongst other things.
Talked a bit to people and this Argentinian girl and amewican dude played guitar and sang a bit, which they did rather well.

Tomorrow I am taking the train to Baltimore airport where my flight to San Francisco parts.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



21st March 2011

heading for San Francisco
Dear Peter/Pieje. We love reading your daily reports. They are most entertaining and instructive. Thanks to your comments we can share a little bit all the things you are discovering. It will be difficult to memorize all your sight-seeing but most of it you will never forget, we imagine.It strikes us also that you have a very tight schedule. From time to time you will have to take breath. And now San Francisco. Again a very nice place to visit. Wish you a lot of fun.Irene and Jacques
21st March 2011

Thanks, its nice to hear wrtiing it all is appreciated. And well the thing is i dont have a schedule, i go where i please when i please. I am currently doing everything rather fast paced because for every day i spend in the states i can spend 3 or 4 days in a less expensive place like mexico(money-wise offcourse).
21st March 2011

red tan?
wear sun protection! I know you've got it!!!! :-P
21st March 2011

The District!
Hi there Peter, As all your previous entries, a very nice report + beautiful pics. Feels like we' traveling with you! DC looks amazing. I got some interest on it since I finished reading The Lost Symbol, by Dan Brown. I definitly will be going there very soon too :) Take care, and have a nice and safe flight to S.Francisco. -S.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb