One week away!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Suffolk
May 24th 2010
Published: May 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I am one week away from departing on my trip which begins in Russia and ends in Florence, Italy. I am spending the week with my sister and two nieces in Suffolk, VA. Mostly my duty is to be on baby watch since my sister is pregnant with her third and is due next Sunday and was worried about being alone. My other sister returns from boot camp in the Army on the 27th and will take over until my sister's husband returns from deployment.

The good news is I was able to put my new backpack to use early and see how well it can work for my 6 weeks abroad. I was skeptical when I first bought it that there was no way I would fit everything I needed, but now I am sure that with some clever packing, it will be easy as pie.

Yesterday I was able to make reservations at all the hostels I will be staying at and was pleased that the final bill for that will be less than $300. Add to that my estimated cost of train and air fare in country and I am well below a grand, so my budget of $2500 has been put to good use, and I am well with in range and then some. Looking good.

Then I also was able to order my travel sheet, towel, outlet adapter, and umbrella, and have it all shipped here to my sister's so I will have it in plenty of time.

I have had a great time visiting my sister and nieces. So far we have been to the zoo, yesterday after cleaning out their sandbox we built sandcastles, played on the swings, rode bikes and went to the park. Today after church we played a couple of games then all sat down and colored. Ah, the life!

The remainder of my planning includes making sure I have maps and a general sense of how I am going to get to all my locations which will include of course a general itinerary so my loved ones will know where I am, I have three more plays to read to complete the deadline for my Month in Moscow, I want a practice run at packing my bag just to be sure, I have to watch the series finale of LOST and the season finale of Fringe, and then I just may be ready.


So here are the general dates and locations of my upcoming travels:

June 1-July 1 ---- Moscow, Russia Lots of classes, hard work, sweat, walking, and seeing lots of theatre - in Russian. I'm so stoked!

July 1 (most of the day) ----- Amsterdam, Netherlands (this is where I deviate from the rest of the group that will be returning to Detroit} So far I have already purchased my ticket to the Anne Frank museum/house and the VanGogh Museum. That evening I take a train to the coast and hop on a ferry for an overnight ferry ride to the UK, arriving next morning to catch another train into London.

July 2 - 5 ------ London, England Certainly have some general ideas of what I will do here, but mostly catching as many theatre shows as I can, and top on the list is the show War Horses. Will be departing on a train so that I can ride through the chunnel, yippee!

Julv 5 - 8 ------ Paris, France Again general ideas of things to see, I am super excited about the food here, as I hear nothing but amazing things. Of course the Louvre and Palace of Versailles is high on my list. Also plan to see theatre here as well. Leaving on a plane.

July 8 - 11 -------- Berlin, Germany Maybe one of the more exciting legs of my journey as it turns out I will have a friend to show me around so I don't appear to be such a tourist. Already have three shows lined out to see in Berlin and one of the them is at the Berliner Ensemble, the company started by Bertolt Brecht, so excited. Leaving on a plane.

July 11 - 14 ------- Rome, Italy Am most excited about the food here, since I hear it is amazing even in what would be considered the worst of restaurants. Plus really excited to see all the history and art, especially after having read "The Agony and Ecstasy" (thanks Mom). Leaving on a train.

July 14 - 15 ------ Florence, Italy Michelangelo here I come. Apparently this is a beautiful walking city with just a lot of wonder, and since there is so much art by Michelangelo I couldn't pass up the opportunity. Leaving on a plane.

July 15 - 16 -------- Amsterdam Had to come back here a day early since my flight out of Amsterdam is so early back to Detroit, so it looks like I will get to spend one night in Amsterdam. Maybe I should look for a place in the red light district! Just kidding! Leaving on a plane.

July 16 ------- Detroit Rock City!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb