India- Final Thoughts


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Falls Church
February 26th 2016
Published: February 26th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I arrived back from India almost 5 days ago and am still processing the experience. Our guide, Singh, told our group that it would take several days for us to process all the experiences and he was absolutely right. I've had many people ask what was my favorite part of the trip and I've realized that I can't even begin to answer that question. The sights, the sounds, the smells, the tastes and the PEOPLE were all amazing and all made an impression in many different ways. And I know I've only seen a very small part of India. People tell me that Southern India is a whole different culture...I may just have to go back and see for myself!

It is true that the poverty and crowding can be overwhelming at times. However, there is a sense of joy that emanates from all around in most places. Maybe the colorful saris help hide the deprivation, but it also seemed the people themselves more often than not, seemed happy and not as downtrodden as you would expect. While there were some beggars and some aggressive street vendors, I never once felt threatened. I felt safer walking anywhere I was in India, than I do in some neighborhoods in downtown D.C. The people were so friendly and I felt so welcomed in so many places.

While I have always enjoyed Indian food, I now have a new appreciation for the wide variety of foods and spices. I had paneer at almost every meal but it was different every time with different sauces and spices. I'm already missing the fresh Naan passed at every meal....It was never put out on the buffets but always passed piping hot. I loved the masala tea and bought a masala spice mix at one of the markets....I wish I'd bought more because I'm afraid it will be gone in a week! Dessert offerings in Indian restaurants I've been to have been very limited--not true in India! The ice cream made from buffalo milk is especially good.

I still am marveling at the variety of transportation experiences--plane, train, bus, car, tuk-tuk, rickshaw and camel. Our guide gave us a very amusing handout "Highway Code of India". A few examples: 1. The assumption of immortality is required of all road users; 2. Indian traffic like Indian society is structured on a strict caste system. The following precedence must be accorded at all times. In descending order, give way to: cows, elephants, camels, buffalo, pigs, goats, dogs, heavy trucks, buses, official cars, pedal rickshaws, private cars, motorcycles scooters, auto-rickshaws, handcarts and pedestrians; 3, All wheeled vehicles shall be driven in accordance with the maxim: to slow is to falter, to brake is to fail, to stop is defeat. This is the Indian driver's mantra.; 4. In the absence of seat belts (which there is) car occupants shall wear garlands of marigolds. These should be kept fastened at all times. There are 8 more---all equally as amusing and so true! I still can't believe the way everyone drives and yet I didn't see a single accident in the 19 days. I think the drivers are all very good and there really is some unwritten code related to who has precedence and how the horn is used. Despite the constant blasting of horns, I didn't see any signs of road rage.

I have a new appreciation and some understanding of the Hindu religion which I really knew very little about before this trip. I now know there are a million gods in the Hindu religion! I became familiar with some of the more prominent gods such as Vishnu, Shiva and Genush (sp?). Seeing the Muslims and Hindu communities living side by side in harmony in Old Delhi was heartening, but understanding more about the problems between India and Pakistan and the stalemate over Kashmir was not encouraging.

There is much happening in India that is positive and would indicate they are moving more into the modern world. However, there are overwhelming obstacles they face. I think the biggest obstacle is the overpopulation. Cities are becoming more and more crowded as people leave their agricultural communities hoping to find work in the cities. Their agriculture has been seriously affected by less rain in the monsoon season in the past few years. While the government now has schools for everyone, there is still only a 60%!l(MISSING)iteracy rate in many places. School is not compulsory and many families do not send their children--they can't afford the cost of required uniforms and books. More girls are going to school but in rural areas, they still are less likely to go to school than boys. While the caste system is outlawed, it is clear that there are still great divides among classes of people---another source of difficulty in moving the society as a whole forward.

India is a fascinating country with so many layers to discover. I learned so much--and have so much more to learn and discover!

Advertisement



18th March 2016

Thank You So Much + A Question
Thank you so much for your thoughts! I am heading out on this same tour in just 4 weeks, on April 18, and am kind of anxious as a solo traveller who hasn't been many places. I've been doing a lot of research and have answered some pressing questions, but one remains: Given all that is paid for by OAT, how much spending money would you recommend I bring, for meals, sundries, etc.? I'm not a shopper and am thinking I'll just bring cash -- ATMs don't appeal to me. But you could advise me about that too! So, what do you think? (Hoping I'm not insane for deciding to go on this tour by myself!)
18th March 2016

Answers
I did this tour by myself and it's absolutely no problem....there were 3 of us who didn't know anyone else but all 15 (4 couples and 7 singles) all go along very well! I spent less than $300 on meals, drinks and misc. items. I changed my cash at the airport and at a couple of hotels....never used an ATM. I did use my credit card for a few clothing purchases. Most times when a meal wasn't included, we all had plenty to eat in the two meals that were provided so only had a snack if anything. Hope this helps. It was a great trip. (Your weather will be warmer than when I was there...be prepared!)

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb