Damascus (cookie chalange)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Damascus
October 25th 2008
Published: October 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Grittz & YearbookGrittz & YearbookGrittz & Yearbook

A very cold morning
I'm on the verge of finishing the longest state on the trail! Virginia holds over 500 miles of the AT and I'm so excited to hit Tennessee!

The weather really did get cold last week and I woke up with my water frozen and very little ambition to leave my sleeping bag. I can handle the cold, but I'm looking forward to finishing up and retreating to heated buildings and my soft warm bed.

We hit Grayson Highlands State Park and the bald hill tops and grassy fields reminded me of hiking out west. There are "wild" ponies that live in the park and we got a chance to approach a few. Only one was curious enough to let us feed/pet it. I was so tempted to jump on one and see if I could go for a ride but I decide that a swift kick from a pony would be an awful way to end my trip early.

There was a competition going between Grittz, Yearbook, and myself to see who could have more people send us cookies to Damascus. We all made calls about a week before we got here and I thought I had the win in the bag but alas.... I came in second. I made calls till my battery died in my phone so I'm sorry if you wanted to participate and didn't get a call. I did have a few messages from friends who lost the address or forgot to get to the post office on time, but I'm glad not everyone came through. I have so many cookies to eat! I'm feeling a bit ill today from all the wonderful cookies I got to eat yesterday! I couldn't carry all of them with me for my next section of trail so I mailed a few ahead and I'll be able to enjoy them later.

So thanks again to those that came trough for me, all of the baked goods have been wonderful!

On to the last 460 miles of trail! (We’ll see if I get another chance to update this or not)



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Pocket Pocket
Pocket

in a field bus! (looked like a good hunting camp)
Great job!Great job!
Great job!

thanks again to all our bakers!


25th October 2008

cookie contest
So who made the best cookies? Miss you, Channy
27th October 2008

Yes!
I see the cookies Liz and I made for you arrived unharmed!
30th October 2008

ee! :)
Hey tom! happy halloween!! definately not the same without you. I saw liz at the yoga studio this week- she says her and j.j. send their love! congrats on nearing completion of yet another state! love u, Anne
30th October 2008

Hey Tommy!!!!
Hey Tommy!!! Im glad to see ur having so much fun!!! i hope you are being careful and staying warm. You have taken some amazing pics. and I cant wait to hear all about it!! Enjoy the rest of your trip!! :-)
2nd November 2008

trip home
check w/ pocket + others to stay same place + have farewell party with families - waiting for the real HUG, love ya
14th November 2008

georgia!!
Springer Mt. here comes Tom!! The drought is over the rain shaman has arrived!! Hurray for Moth Balls. I hope that area appreciate you and your hiking crew. They owe you big time. Can't believe I'm counting days for my HUG. See you soon! MOM

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb