Home, Sweet Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Ashburn
April 1st 2013
Published: June 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 39.0516, -77.4831

With our delay in Senegal, my flight into Dulles was about an hour late, I had been unfortunately seated near the rear of the plane, but that also meant I was one of the last to board the People Mover at Dulles, which meant I was one of the first to get off an into immigration. I cleared in no time, and aside from a short stop in Customs to have them look at the wine I was bringing in, I was home by 08:30am. I technically should have had to pay duty on the wine, but the agent explained that it would cost more to process the paperwork than to have me pay the money, so he waved me through.

I was back at the airport about three hours later to meet K and A. As I was waiting, I ran into a friend from work who was just getting back from a week in Bali with his wife. He was complaining about the 17-hour trip, but he quickly quieted down when he heard about our 26-hour affair.

K and A emerged from Immigration shortly thereafter and looked pretty darn good considering that neither of them had gotten much sleep at all. Our challenge for the remainder of the day was to keep one another awake. We all managed to make it until about 7:00pm, but then all collapsed...literally.

The trip as a whole is still sinking in, and looking back the pictures now is still bringing it into focus. We all agree that it was an outstanding trip, but none of us is very eager to get back on a plane for a good long while.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb