Ask Not What Your Country Can Do For You....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Arlington
May 21st 2012
Published: May 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

With yet another day of severe jet lag and suffering from the time difference, I spent the day at Arlington National Cemetary. What an amazing experience! I was to touched, honored and inspired by this hallowed ground. Speechless from the stretches of white tombstones, I think every American should visit this place.

I took the easy way out and opted to purchase a ticket for the tram. With very sore feet from the day before, I was grateful for the tram ride. The first stop was JFK's gravesite, on the bottom of the hillside below Arlington House and marked by the Eternal Flame that Jackie and RFK lit at Kennedy's funeral. It was a solemn, peaceful, and reflective place. So much lost. I immediately thought of my dad and all my years of him remembering the day JFK was shot. I was proud that I could visit and share the experience with my dad.

The next stop was the Tomb of the Unknowns. I happened upon the guards bringing down the American flag which was a silent and awe-inspring moment. The guards with their neatly starched uniforms and perfectly white gloves snapped the flags corners until it was neatly tucked into a triangle. I then watched the changing of the guard which was also amazing. I lucked out and walked up on a NPS lecture on the selection of the remains that were ultimately interned in the Tomb.

One last stop was at Arlington House at the top of the Cemetary. Here, you could see over the entire downtown DC, noting each of the monuments I visited yesterday.

I continue to be in awe and will be for some time to come. Tomorrow will include another trip into DC to connect with an old friend for a tour of the Capitol Building and a quick bite. I start work later in the afternoon and my adventure will come to a close.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb