A week left to work


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Alexandria
July 21st 2011
Published: July 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I can see that my time left here is getting short. My last day working will be Friday, July 29th.

Several weeks ago I started working at the Brabo Tasting Room in Old Town Alexandria via a recommendation from Alma, a good friend and co-worker from my previous job at Cap City. This is the kind of job I wish I would have found a long time ago, and unfortunately I found it just before I leave. I will miss the people I work with there, even our time together will have been so short.

Dan and I just ordered the last parts for our bikes, and they should arrive by Tuesday. I have a center stand on my bike already, this will help when taking off a wheel, an oil change, or chain lubing. Dan didn't have one, so he ordered one, and we both ordered forward foot pegs that double as engine guards, and replacement subframe bolts( something that was recommended and only $5). I will put these on here, and get a bit more familiar with the bikes while doing so.

My bike has a problem with the chain, and isn't riding very well, so I am riding Dan's Shadow for the moment, he is riding his KLR and re-connecting with it after a little time off after falling on it. I am changing the chain and sprockets in the next few days and will be changing the sprockets too, putting on a front sprocket with one less tooth to improve gas mileage. The KLRs are known for their mechanical dependability, and we will do our best to keep them in good repair.

I did a practice pack on my bike yesterday. I stuffed the soft bags that came with the bike and laid my 90 liter ruck sack over the seat above the bags. I buckled the waist strap around the right bag, and could tether the left side with a short cord. this leaves the bungee on my ruck sack faced up and all of the other clips and buckles too. I will have to try this again, but with my bags packed accordingly for the trip to see how much of what I can take with me. It looks like along with the camping equipment, rain/cole gear, and motorcycle maintenance tools I will have enough room for a couple pair of shorts, a few T shirts, a bathing suit, several changes of socks and underwear, and a couple shoe options.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0776s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb