Migrant Laborers...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Alexandria
July 16th 2005
Published: July 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

...that was Sherry and I this morning, just a couple of migrant agricultural laborers, earning our keep picking beans, peppers, zucchini and squash (see photos). Mike & Seaona have a lovely old farmhouse with a large garden that produces almost too much for them to keep up with. We were able to help Mike catch up on their picking this morning. In return we got a nice night of sleep, and we left their place this morning with two bags full of fresh veggies:

...but here I am expounding upon produce. Could anyone be finding this interesting?

As indicated, we're at sister Lesley's place in Alexandria. No, she's not a nun. Actually she teaches family health/sex ed at a church school. I tell quite a few people that I meet about this, because I think it's interesting, and they find it interesting too. Hmm, I wonder if she'll find it interesting to read about this here...

Anyway, not only is Lesley an assistant swim
Sherry at Cosmic BowlingSherry at Cosmic BowlingSherry at Cosmic Bowling

The DJ queued up Dizzee Rascal as the 2nd song of the night. Fix up look sharp!
coach, but she's also my twin sister. For those of you keeping track, she's 10 minutes older than me.

Many thanks to Mike & Seaona for having us and for treating us to dinner at Adam's Ribs. Great name for a rib place, almost as good as 'Wok and Roll' for an Asian place...

Recapping, after dinner last night Mike and Sherry and I hit the lanes for a little 10-pin at Lord Calvert's Lanes (see photo). This morning after picking, Sherry and I got a few picks of M & S's place, then we left them to some of their weekend work. Along the way, we collected two, yes two!, 'Welcome to ...' signs, Washington, DC and Virginia.

It's good to be back in VA. I've decided we have to stop through Charlottesville on the way south from here on Monday, looking forward to that.

-Cory







Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Ruby Corn SilkRuby Corn Silk
Ruby Corn Silk

Sounds like a name that could be filed under Alt-Country ; )


18th July 2005

not about curtains
I once saw a Chinese restaurant in rural England called "Wok This Way," and figured that the world could not get any cooler. I hope I can get Ryan Adams and Ben Folds to be at the Merge office when you come through town. See ya, duuuuuude.

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0946s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb