OK! This is what I signed up for!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Afton
May 20th 2018
Published: May 20th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Climb up to AftonClimb up to AftonClimb up to Afton

Did not see a car until the last two miles when I had to ride the main highway to the top.
After a day of R &R, David, ( my host in Charlottesville) took me on his route to the bottom of the big climb up to Afton; the spot where the Blue Ridge Parkway begins.

We parted as good friends and I sincerely hope we have an opportunity to enjoy each other’s company again.

It was just a lovely day!

My senses were filled with blue sky highlighted by white puffy clouds, the sound of birds rapturous over the smells and delights of a warm summer day and the lush green countryside passing slowly by.

This is what it’s all about!

There was more climbing today and the last five miles up to Afton very much reminded me of Mount Palomar. I don’t remember anything on the Pacific Route quite so challenging! Of course one seems to forget those days as time passes.

The steep hills just add to the challenge though! I’m out here following my dream. It’s just me the bicycle and the road ahead. Life can’t get much simpler than that!


I’m staying in the Colony Motel, a pretty sparse property, but it’s very close to the Blue Ridge. Anywhere
Colony MotelColony MotelColony Motel

Not much, but I get to avoid going back down the hill to find accommodations. I know what you’re thinking...... there is no legal camping up here either.
else is back down the hill to repeat that big climb before starting the very hilly Blue Ridge.

Tomorrow I expect to see Bruce Tipton and Jim Robinson at the Blue Ridge Parkway entrance just 1/2 mile up the hill from here.

We should have a great time together enjoying one of the most beautiful spots on Earth!

I’m a lucky guy!

Stay tuned.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Batesville MarketBatesville Market
Batesville Market

Center of a great little community.
Last stop before the climb to AftonLast stop before the climb to Afton
Last stop before the climb to Afton

Had to say farewell to my friend David.
Perfect pavement and no traffic.Perfect pavement and no traffic.
Perfect pavement and no traffic.

David Dalley taking me on his favorite route.
Rockfish Gap Historical MarkerRockfish Gap Historical Marker
Rockfish Gap Historical Marker

This sign is the demarcation between Skyline drive to the North East and the Blue Ridge Parkway to the South West. Rockfish Gap has served as a passegeway through the mountains since the Indians roamed the area.


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0778s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb