Badmitton and Vermont Goodbyes- Back to reality


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont
September 11th 2006
Published: September 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Although today marks a sad day in our time, my day marks the departure of my longest, most in-depth adventure yet. Tonight, I leave for San Fransico. I will spend the next year participating in the LEAPYear program(www.leapnow.org) and traveling around C. America and Africa. For the first two weeks, I will spend my days in Sonoma County, CA at the programs retreat center preparing for the next year. Then, its off to Guatemala, Costa Rica and Honduras!

After spending the day visiting my Great Aunt Sophie and playing badmitton with Alexis, I have found some time to sit with my kitty and jot down my thoughts. I am excited, but calm. Its been a year since I left home and moved to NYC. After a semester, I knew I needed something other then what SVA could provide. I dont have any regrets for the past year. Instead, I look back at my time spent in Burlington with a smile. Living on my own, I found my self loving life. Knowing a full year of intense soul searching was ahead, I let loose and discovered what I love about living. I found the simplicity in existance.

My summer was delightfully plump with good times. In fact, I have been so caught up with each wonderful day that I have had no space in my mind to focus on the coming year. The time has definitley come for some good ole' structure and intellectual stimulation. I am so ready for this.

My things are jumbled in a semi-organized mass in the corner of my room. Packing is the last step for me. I have said my goodbyes and dragged myself away from Tori and Miles. I have scarfed my final skillet from The Golden Egg and my cell phone now belongs to Devin. Time to pack my bags.

See you all in December! Take care.

-Emma






Advertisement



12th September 2006

You go girl!
I am soo very proud and excited for you Emma! The trip of a life time is ahead, adventure awaits you:) I wish you safe and exciting travels and am refreshed to know that you are doing what you love and going through life with love not fear,, take care honey! Love,, Darla:)

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb