Chesterton, NY to Woodstock, Vermont


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont
July 10th 2006
Published: July 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Chesterton to Woodstock, VT

For some reason the map doesn't show the towns well in this part of the US. I don't know why.

More Adirondack CountryMore Adirondack CountryMore Adirondack Country

Just a nice little 'cottage' in the hills.
Odometer: 34622km

My goal today was to find a place in either Vermont or New Hampshire where I could get a motel close to a hiking trail and stay off the bike for a day.

Underway in the morning, I looked at the map and thought Ticonderoga, NY would be a small resort type town and a good place for my breakfast. It turned out to be a bit of a sleepy hollow and set a bit back in time. No quaint bakery and coffee place here - sort of like Estevan, Saskatchewan. Keep the coffee simple, bacon and eggs for breakfast, and white bread please. Heck, they've taken three years to negotiate getting a Dunkin' Donuts into the town, according to a guy in the computer store where I went to update my blog.

The next bit of road was great riding with lots of curves and hills and very little traffic.

Rutland, VT had a familiar feel to it. To me, it had an ambiance similar to Calgary, but on a smaller scale. I picked this up from the many people on mountain bikes around town, the generally younger population, and the feeling of people being busy and prosperous. From the posters and newspaper, I could see there were lots of things related to outdoor, mountain based activities. It also looks like this is a bit of a ski centre in the winter.

After a latte, which of course they would have in this sort of place, I continued to ride east, ending up in Woodstock, VT. By consulting the information centre I found some nice, local hiking trails, so I decided to make this my two day stop. I treated myself to a very good motel and settled in. The bad news was they didn't have the Tour de France on TV. The consequence, I got to sleep in good time.

Not much riding today. Odometer at the end of the day: 34802km

Advertisement



Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0885s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb