Countdown to the next trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont
October 31st 2008
Published: October 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings, blog subscribers! It's been a while, but now it's time for an update:

Since returning home from our trip last spring, we've never stopped thinking about our experiences and how we might someday return to Southeast Asia. A plan is in the works, and we thought we'd let you know about it.

114 days to go!!!

On February 23rd, Jaz and I will leave for a two-month trip. We will spend most of that time in Siem Reap, Cambodia, doing volunteer work for the Ponheary Ly Foundation. Plane tickets have been purchased, inexpensive guest-house accommodations have been arranged, and exact details of how we will spend our time are being developed. My co-workers are willing to tolerate yet another extended absence on my part (the longest ever), and Jaz has been in negotiation with her teachers and guidance counselor to come up with a plan that will allow her to manage being away from school for so long. (It looks like a combination of independent study, online CCV classes, and emailing homework back and forth to MMU will work. We are grateful to the school for their support for this venture.) We've cut back on expenses at home to save money toward this trip - it turns out that we don't really miss cable TV very much and it feels good to make small sacrifices toward such an important goal.

We are excited beyond words! Our only disappointment is that Steve won't be coming with us - he doesn't feel he can be away from work for that long. I feel so incredibly lucky that Jaz wants to do this with me - how many mothers are lucky enough to have a teenage daughter who would do such a thing?!?!

I do plan to blog again, so if you're not interested in following along this time, you'd better unsubscribe yourself to these updates. I may decide to use another blogging format/site as we get closer to departure, and if that's the case I will be sure to put a link here so you can follow if you want to.

In the meantime, we're thinking about ideas for fundraising. In addition to our volunteer labor, we'd love to be able to provide more cash support for the incredible work of this foundation. If anyone has any good ideas about community groups that may be interested in contributing or ways we can raise funds between now and February, we welcome all your thoughts. My next post on this blog may be a copy of the letter I plan to send offering details about how far a donation can go, and your feedback on that is most welcome!

Thank you all once again for all your comments the last time I dabbled at this blogging thing. I enjoyed doing it, and I look forward to doing it again, and we welcome you all along for the ride.

And while I'm being thankful, let me just get mushy enough for a moment to express my thanks for everyone and everything in my life that makes this grand adventure possible. I am so incredibly fortunate to have such a supportive partner, such an amazing support network of family and friends and coworkers, and a job that gives me a sense of purpose and pays me well enough to make this trip (and many others) happen. I have a roof over my head, food on the table, clothes on my back - which is more than millions of people in Cambodia can say - and so much more above and beyond. I hope to never lose sight of how fortunate we all are, and never to take any of it for granted.

Thank you to each and every one of you for your contributions to my amazingly charmed life.

Now get out there and vote!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb