Utah Parks


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah
April 22nd 2008
Published: May 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I had about a week in Utah to visit a friend in Salt Lake City and to visit the some of the National and State Parks. Once again my decisions of where to go were some what based on having dogs, what the temperature would be and if dogs were allowed on trails. I started with Bryce Canyon, which had a high in the low 60s, which made it possible for the dogs to hang out in the car, in the shade while I went on some wonderful hikes. It was my first nights camping by myself and it was wonderful weather, although my camp stove broke.

On my way back to Salt Lake City to stay with a friend, I decided to go through Zion National Park and go on their one hike that allows dogs. However, my car had different plans. My timing belt broke about 5 miles into the park. After being towed a short distance by the park rangers (thanks), I spent a couple of hours waiting for a tow truck, so I only saw really one spot in the park other than through a wind shield. I had assumed that with a car with over 230,000 miles that I might need some repairs along the way. However this wasn't the repair I had expected since I had a new timing belt put on in January, there will be some conversation with my local toyota dealer who put the one on in January when I went back. All things considered the repair went well, it didn't impact my plans and I didn't have any accident due to the break down.

After Salt Lake City where I got to see an old co-worker, hike in the snow and have a break from the road, I headed south to Arches National Park. (I did fly to Virginia Beach for about 30 hours to go to a friends wedding. It was strange hiking in the snow one day and then walking on the beach the next. The wedding was wonderful and my friend is amazing.) In Arches I mostly drove the road and stopped at the overlooks. The next day I got up at sunrise to get in one hike before it got to hot for the dogs to hang out in the car. I also drove through Canyonlands and then went to Dead Horse Canyon State Park to go on a wonderful hike with the dogs. Traveling with dogs can be limiting, but it does force me to go to state parks that allow dogs on the trails. From there I headed to Colorado and spent the night in the pet friendly Motel 6 in Grand Junction, Colorado.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb