The Most Awesome Experience on Two Wheels


Advertisement
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's 7:00 here and my adrenaline is still pumping...... WHAT A DAY.

Blog words just cannot explain the experiences had this day. From getting to meet Mr. Carr, seeing so much iron and inginuity from 1920 to 2009 and then trying to slow my heart rate down when you are instruced to proceed to the start line. Pre-stage and main was almost a 2hr process all the while watching runs and knowing you are soon to be lined up at mile 1.

My goal was to bring a bike from 980 elevation to an adjusted salt elevation of over 8,500 and break the 100mph barrier. This alone is what challenges people to run fast on the salt. My first run at 1:23 this afternoon came in at 104.343..... Yeh Baby, HoooooYaahhhh.

I'm here to tell ya, I've gone faster at home..... but over 100mph on the salt today I entered the 2nd mile having just gotten into 5th gear and pinnned the throttle.... my rpm went up because my rear tire is spinning (at 100+ my heart rate started spinning to) my ass starts to wiggle and I was like Oh Please God let my butt keep following my front tire. I decided I wanted to keep her pinned and exicted mile three with the slowest deacceleration known to man and the biggest grin ever. When I turned off at mile four it really hit me, I had just run The Bonneville Salt.

Mel was such a wonderful Pit Boss, it was a very hot and very long day and she was there every step of the way. Through 2 hour staging and pre staging sessions, to being my only shade when leathered up, we both had a blast. As you can see in the pics before my 2nd attempt she had to grab a lil nap to keep it up 😊 But to run down my return lane and see her driving the car back to meet me was such a crazy wonderfull feeling to know I'm OK and we are both so stoked with the run.

Ahhhh the 2nd attempt. This time during pre-stage, my heart was not in pounding through my chest, my throat not as dry and my hands not shaking while suiting up. Unfortunately we experienced another salt tradition and that was afternoon/evening winds. I am the next in line to the course, already visions of running through the gears quicker to get to fifth with more run out are flying through my head, but the wait grew longer and longer and then the word came down.... Course Closed due to winds above 12mph.

Yesterday if you told me that would happen I would have felt cheated. Today, it really didn't bother me as I had One, met and beat my goal and two lived a 36 year old dream, Kent Mitchell ran the Bonneville Salt.

I have attached a few picks of this day and will get all the bike pic's loaded up on Tuesday. For now I am signing off and heading out to de a lil celebrating.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



1st September 2009

Well done!
I am really glad it went so well, and, I have to admit, I am glad it is over!! I really am proud of you. Hope you have a really great vacation now and enoy seeing the western part of the USA. Take care and keep in touch. Love you, Mom
1st September 2009

surreal
that c ya pic looks so surreal on the white sand. great shot! and grats to you and ur loyal companion for surviving day 1! sounds incredible! :)
1st September 2009

Whoooooo hoooooo
CONGRATS GOOD JOB!!!!!!!!!!!! DuDe
1st September 2009

"Congrats"
Sounds like you have accomplished your dream, well done
1st September 2009

Hooray!
Congratulations Kent! Great job.
7th September 2009

Lazy
wow looks like fun but that lazy pit boss MMMM,

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb