Boulder Mountains, Dixie National Forest, Boulder, Utah USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Torrey
September 23rd 2020
Published: April 19th 2021
Edit Blog Post

It was late in the afternoon when I got to Torrey, Utah. I turned South on Utah Scenic Hwy 12 for my legal camp in the Boulder Mountains. I could see that the Boulder Mountains were getting heavy rain. About ten miles South of Torrey I entered the Dixie National Forest and uphill to the Boulder Mountains.

I drove up to where the Ponderosa Pines were tall and made camp in the dryness of the leeward side of the Boulder Mountains. I have camped at this spot before, and I call this "Pine Camp". I had some trail mix for my dinner and got into the back of of my truck for needed sleep. Within an hour I could hear heavy rain on my camper shell, but I was warm and dry. (In 2017 I camped here and had a nice sunset.)

I woke the next morning to steady rainfall. (No coffee then.) I drove uphill into the nice aspen forest and the rain got harder. Then the winds picked up and I got hail coming down.

I got to Forest Service driving trail 3980 where I made a second camp in 2017; but I didn't go there
Torrey, UtahTorrey, UtahTorrey, Utah

start Utah (beehive) Hwy 12
cuz of the heavy rain. FS 3980 is a steep trail to an individual peak of the Boulder Mountains (about 100 meters in diameter) with great views for 360 degrees with some walking.

I drove uphill at the road summit (over 9000 feet) and there were three scenic overlooks in a ten mile stretch. After a brief visit to each overlook I drove downhill a number of miles leaving the forest service and made it to Boulder, Utah.

Note: There are some pay campgrounds and picnic areas in these mountains. There are many free and legal camps on the dirt trails in the nice tall aspen trees for dispersed camping in the Boulder Mountains.

(In 2017 I took the dirt road from Boulder up to "Devils Backbone" that meandered around "Box Death Hollow" and down to Escalante, Utah.)

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Boulder MountainsBoulder Mountains
Boulder Mountains

Pine Camp sunset (2017 pic)
Boulder MountainsBoulder Mountains
Boulder Mountains

FS 3980 "Mt Peak Camp" (2017 pic)
Boulder MountainsBoulder Mountains
Boulder Mountains

FS 3980 "Mt Peak Camp" (2017 pic)
Boulder MountainsBoulder Mountains
Boulder Mountains

FS 3980 "Mt Peak Camp" Henry Mountains in distance (2017 pic)
Boulder MountainsBoulder Mountains
Boulder Mountains

first scenic overlook Historic Marker
Boulder MountainsBoulder Mountains
Boulder Mountains

first scenic overlook Historic Marker
Boulder MountainsBoulder Mountains
Boulder Mountains

Homestead Scenic Overlook
Boulder MountainsBoulder Mountains
Boulder Mountains

Homestead Scenic Overlook
Boulder MountainsBoulder Mountains
Boulder Mountains

Homestead Scenic Overlook Historic Marker
Boulder MountainsBoulder Mountains
Boulder Mountains

Homestead Scenic Overlook Historic Marker
Boulder MountainsBoulder Mountains
Boulder Mountains

Homestead Scenic Overlook Historic Marker
Boulder MountainsBoulder Mountains
Boulder Mountains

Homestead Scenic Overlook Historic Marker
Boulder MountainsBoulder Mountains
Boulder Mountains

downhill to Boulder, Utah


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb