Capitol Reef National Park, Fruita, Utah USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Torrey
September 23rd 2020
Published: April 16th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Driving West of Hanksville on Utah Hwy 24 I was riding by the Fremont River on Mostly BLM land. About forty miles West of Hanksville I entered Capitol Reef National Park, where my pics started. Up high in the Fremont River Canyon the Mormons established the settlement of Fruita (in 1880) where the conditions were right for their fruit orchards. I made a stop at the Fruita Schoolhouse built around 1896, and renovated with a new roof around 1912. To get my pics inside the school I held my camera lens directly against the glass windows.

Nearby were the fruit orchards (apples, peaches, pears, etc) planted by the Mormons. In contrast to the very strict rules by the National Park Service about taking anything (even a rock or pine cone), they usually keep one marked orchard open to the public. They supply very large expensive ladders and long handled fruit grabbers for picking fruit. The Park gives you free all the ripe fruit you can eat on site, and only charges you for the fruit you carry off site. (Yumm!) This year I did not see an open orchard.

At the West side of the Park is the source
Fruita SchoolhouseFruita SchoolhouseFruita Schoolhouse

(in Fremont River Canyon)
of the Fremont River at the top of a large hill with a great view. There is much more to see there including hiking and off road vehicle trails; but I needed to press on to my next camp.

From my 2017 trip I posted another blog on Capitol Reef National Park on this site in 2018.

Completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Park side roadPark side road
Park side road

(2017 pic)


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb