Moab


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Moab
June 12th 2017
Published: June 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Well finally found a Maccas with good reception

Well I will try to remember what I've been upto so far.

I left about 9am and the first stop was Bridal Veil Falls and WIldwood on the Provo River. I rafted down this river with my friends 4 years ago. If I did it now my head would be still floating downstream as the bridges are too low to get under. From here I restocked the food pantry in South Fork and headed up the canyon to Moab. Stopped at a couple of rest areas. one was on a hill giving the viewer a 360 deg. view. I was going to visit some rock art, but missed the turn off. The road signs to anywhere except on the freeways are very poor. Next destination was Dead Horse Point. Just north of Moab. Just another canyon along the Colorado River with a magnificent view of the river bend I stopped at the visitor centre and walked out to view the canyon. I was told the best view was to the right so started walking in that direction, and kept walking and walking.... eventually found it after contemplating turning back many times (because I knew I had to walk back eventually). Only to find there was a road that goes directly there. Maybe I should of read the directions first. Well worth the walk or drive even if I was buggered. I wanted to stay for the sunset, but knew if there was any chance of getting a lift back to the VC I had better leave early. Noone stopped to pick me up. 3 1/2 miles that I didn't need to do. Next morning got up early in hopes of catching the sunrise over the Arches NP only to find that they didn't open early during the week due to maintenance. Not having much luck. The vistas though were worth the wait. I used up a HD card before even getting to the Arches themselves. I was planning on walking to the main arch, but due to too much walking the day before only went to the viewing areas. As all good Photographers do I did go beyond the boundries to get a better photo opportunity. I stopped at Moab for lunch of Sweetwater Potatos with green chili and a strawberry cheesecake shake. Next stop was the Natural Bridges NP. I got there before Sunset so was hoping for some good spots to get that photo. Walking was involved so I just got a few of the surrounding countryside.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb