Greetings from Moab


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Moab
May 12th 2010
Published: May 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

View from my picnic tableView from my picnic tableView from my picnic table

This is the view from my picnic table. The Colorado River runs through the cut in the rocks you see there on its way to the Grand Canyon.
Greetings from Moab. It was a very smooth day driving the 275 miles from Bryce to Moab.

It didn’t get into the 20s last night and there was no snow. I did have a few off and on showers on I-70. Some were rain and snow mixed.

I rolled into the campground at 3 pm and have a primo site. I also inquired to see if I could stay an extra night. Originally I was told my site wasn’t available Monday night so I was going to drive south to Monument Valley Monday. As it turns out, they were able to let me stay through Monday evening. So I will make a day trip to Monument Valley on Monday. That will make my Tuesday journey to Grand Junction another short and easy day.

I have a nice little area of grass right beside the door to the RV. Chessy really likes that. I also have a tree so I put her tie out leash around the tree and she got to hang outside while I set up camp and unloaded Taz.

After setting up I took Taz to the car wash, picked up a few groceries and
Moab CampgroundMoab CampgroundMoab Campground

Here's my primo campsite. If you look carefully you can see Chessy chilling between the tree and picnic table.
headed to Arches NP hoping for great late afternoon light. Unfortunately there were a lot of clouds to the west and the golden light faded quickly. And those clouds dropped a little rain in Moab and the southern part of Arches. So Taz was nice and clean for only a couple of hours. I'm sure he is dirty from the road spray driving the last two miles back to the campground. Oh well... I can always run by the car wash again.

I plan to hike to Delicate Arch tomorrow morning. I’ll register for Miatas at Moab Thursday evening. One Miata passed me on I-70 and I’ve seen two more since I got here.

That’s it for now. I’m living large in Moab and having a grand time.






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Arches National ParkArches National Park
Arches National Park

This is an unnamed formation across from Courthouse Towers.


Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb