CC w Chris Day 13


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Midvale
September 14th 2014
Published: September 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

2014 09 14 Day 13



We got up early so that we could see the Mormon Tabernacle Choir perform at 9:30. We ate a quick breakfast and left for Salt Lake City a little before eight o'clock. We had a little trouble finding a parking space, but were able to park and get to the tabernacle in plenty of time. Our seats were on the side behind the columns supporting the balcony, but we could see virtually everything and because the acoustics in the tabernacle are so incredible, we could hear perfectly. If you are ever in this part of the country, I highly recommend that you go see the Mormon Tabernacle Choir on Sunday morning at 9:30. It was the most incredible choir I have ever heard, they performed for 30 minutes; I could have listened to them for hours, it was truly an amazing experience. It brings tears to your eyes to hear such beauty. They ended with the Hallelujah chorus from Mendel's “Messiah”. I thought I had died and was listening to angels. Seriously, if you are ever west of the Mississippi, detour through here and listen to the choir, it will be worth it.



After the Choir, we went through the Church of the Latter-Day Saints History Museum, just across the street from the tabernacle. It is an excellent museum; it is set up very nicely and gives you lots of information. Chris and I both enjoyed it a lot.



It was a beautiful, warm, sunny day. We have been very lucky with the weather, but I guess when you visit desert climes, you don't really have to worry about rain spoiling your parade.



We then decided to see the Great Salt Lake, so we drove 18 miles to Great Salt Lake State Park. We found that it wasn't very pretty, there was a haze over the valley which limits visibility. We were told the there is usually a haze over the valley. Still it was pretty neat seeing shores that were salt, not sand.



We decided not to go to the Golden Spike National Historic site because it would have been a three hour round trip – just didn't seem worth it.



During the bus tour of Salt Lake City, the driver pointed out a grocery store in the downtown area and told us that they had some prepared foods and were reasonably priced. We decided to eat lunch there. Turns out, he was right again. They had a great salad bar and a huge selection of sandwiches. I had a salad and Chris ate a turkey and cranberry wrap. We both had cream of mushroom soup, which was delicious.



Our next stop was Jiffy Lube because we have driven almost 4000 miles. We sent back to the motel and when I went back out to the car to get something I had forgot, I noticed a pool of oil under my car. Needless to say, I was not a happy camper. I moved the car to a different parking spot and chacked it after an hour. There were no signs of an oil drip in the new spot. When we went to dinner several hours later, I checked again and there was still no indication of an oil leak. Nor in the restaurant parking lot. I will check eht oil level tomorrow morning and also check for leaking oil. If everything is ok, I will assume that the oil on the parking spot was left by the car before me.



While I was having a nervous breakdown over the oil in my car, Chris did laundry in the laundry room provided by the motel.



We had Italian food for dinner, not very good, and very expensive Sangria.

Advertisement



16th September 2014

Car Trouble
I'm sure the car is fine. I am glad you enjoyed the choir.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb