Cortez, Colorado to Canyonlands National Park


Advertisement
Published: September 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

September 1 Cortez , Colorado to Canyonlands National Park.
Checked out of the motel in Cortez and headed up Hwy491 towards Utah. In Utah it connects with Hwy191 at Monticello going North towards Canyonlands and Arches National Park. At the Montecello Library I connected with their WIFI and did some homework on the two National parks as to campgrounds there. The Willow Flat campground on the “Island in the Sky” seemed to be the best campground so I decided to try for that one. I drove out of Monticello an headed north Moab. The further north I got the hotter it was. It was roasting hot in Moab. I soldiered on to Canyonlands and used my Park Pass to get in and when I got to Willow Flat Campground I was surprised that there were open sites, so I quickly grabbed one and coughed up the $10 campground fee. It was an excellent location just a hundred yards or so from the canyon viewpoint. So after setting up I went down and checked out the view. It was quite awesome. Fortunately it was much cooler at the Willow Flat campground than it had been in Moab.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.992s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 81; dbt: 0.5107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb