More Pow!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Alta
December 30th 2004
Published: December 30th 2004
Edit Blog Post

I couldn't sleep all night. I kept waking up thinking it was 7am (my normal wake up time). I started hearing bombs going off around 7 so I knew it was time.

A note on bombs. Ski patrol uses old 105mm recoiless rifles to fire shells into the mountain that then detonate to try to release slides. Avalanche control work is not only done for the safety of the skiers, but for safety of the buildings and roads.

Earlier that morning guests on the northern wing facing the road were told to evacuate their rooms because avalanche control work would begin soon. They are evacuated because with a lot of snow, avalanches can slide all the way down the mountain, across the road, and into the Peruvian lodge. Employees who live in another building were told to evacuate at 5am and we found them all sleeping in the main lobby in the morning. They The most recent time the Peruvian was hit was 2004

Interlodge had been declared as well that morning. Interlodge basically means your locked in. It usually means avalanche danger is super high and controlled avalanches could bury people on the road or outside. All of the doors are chained shit and it is illegal to go outside and you can be fined $300 dollars and prosecuted if you do.

Well interlodge was lifted at 8:15am and I raced to the chair. Since I was by myself I hopped in the singles line and was the 2nd person. Alta is such a cool place because people here live and die by skiing powder. All the locals were in line talking and chatting about what lines to hit first and where the wind had put the most snow. The guy in front of me in line was quite the character, typical ski bum. Older guy, bushy mustache, older skis, talking like he was 18. After a little pre-chair opening chatter I learned that he had driven from Spokane Washington just for this storm and was living out of his car which was parked in a 24 Hour Fitness Center parking lot. Got to love the true ski bums, they have soul.

At 9:05am, 10 min before the chair opens, the anticipation was thick in the air and I had butterflies in my stomach. This could very well be the best day of skiing in my life I thought. Not only that, but standing just down the line from me were Sage, Matt Collins, Chris Collins, and Will Burks, all insane pro skiers. I buckled my boots and clicked into my skis. It was go time.

"Front Row!" yelled the lift attendent as cheers and hoots signified the beginning of what would be a fun, powder filled day.

Girl from GMD

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb