Great Leaping Mullet


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
February 22nd 2017
Published: February 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today we drove Moby Dodge over to the other side of Galveston Island SP and launched our kayaks on the salt marsh. There are miles and miles of very shallow mud flats on that side, and it makes for fine paddling water. There was a strong north wind blowing across the bay, and as there was a long fetch, you might have expected a nasty chop to kick up. None of the water was more than 2 ft deep though, and that kept the waves very small. We probably went out a mile or so straight into the strong wind until we came to a dried-out oyster bar, where we pulled out and had our lunch. The whole time on the way out we had seen fish jumping, most of them small, though I saw one that was maybe close to two feet long. As we headed back, we got into the jumpers again. Suddenly one shot up out of the water right next to my kayak and landed right in my lap. As he flipped about back up into the air I swatted him with my hand and sent him back overboard. I'm no expert on southern saltwater fish, but I'm pretty sure my visitor was a mullet. I'm only sorry that Cathy was looking the other way and didn't get to see my startled reaction, she would have enjoyed that.

After we got back to the site, we went back over to the beach. Cathy took a long walk, while I unstrapped my bike from the rack and tried it out on the sand. I found that if you stayed just above the surf line, it was nearly hard as pavement. I had a nice ride maybe 3 miles south, and then back -- except for the dogs, it was a blast.

We made another nice supper around sundown, and then called it a full day. Tomorrow we hitch up again and head another 160 miles south to Goose Island State Park near Corpus Christi. We'll be there for 2 nights, and then we'll say goodby to the gulf and head north west into the desert.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



23rd February 2017

Hi!
Looks like you're having a great adventure! Enjoy reading your posts!!! ?

Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0986s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb