Heading West by Northwest


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
August 7th 2011
Published: August 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sunday August 7, 2011 - Bryan, Texas
It’s hot in Bryan. When I drive without my AC in order to take it easy on my truck the wind blowing on me instead of keeping me cool feels like a heater on High.
I had been planning on going on my trip Friday but was delayed.
So now I am planning on leaving on Monday since it is “Monday for Health”. I really didn’t feel comfortable leaving on a Friday anyway since it’s “Friday for Crosses” !
An old Irish saying:
Monday for Health
Tuesday for Wealth
Wednesday’s the best day of all.
Thursday for losses, and
Friday for Crosses, and
Saturday is no day at all.


Doing homework on the “getting out of Texas” portion of my trip. The first leg will be a 200 mile leg from Bryan to Junction. I expect it to be too hot to camp till I get to the Davis Mountains and the Davis Mountains State Park so I will have to stay in motels. Figuring approximately 200 miles a day the first leg will be to Junction, the second Day Junction to Ft Stockton, and the third day from Ft Stockton to Ft Davis via a side trip to Pecos to see the West of the Pecos museum. After a couple of day layover at Ft Davis the next leg will be from Ft Davis to Guadalupe Mountains National Park.
My time at home has been really, really great but if I delay too long on my departure I will probably have to deal with too much snow in the Mountains of Colorado and Wyoming.
Winter sets in early in the mountains but I guess I will see what I can before it gets too deep.
Friday I went by the DPS and put in for a Texas State ID. I figure I can leave my drivers license locked up in my truck while I am walking about and have the Texas State ID on me. That way in the unlikely event I get robbed or pickpocketed somewhere I will still have my license and not have to go through the difficulty of replacing it from a distance.
Well…….it’s pushing 2 AM. Guess I had better start wrapping it up for the day and go to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb