The local coffee club


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
February 15th 2011
Published: February 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

When we got up this morning the fog was starting to clear and then it started to get worse before we took off. Since Sam & I camped we met Bob & Mary at the local McDonalds. There was a group of local folks who were fixing the woes of the world over coffee. When we arrived we were a hit. I think each of us talked with everyone there, it was great. When we were ready to leave several of the men walked out to admire the bike I think there were 8 guys there. This was a enjoyable stop. Once out of town the traffic thinned making it a fun ride. Bob took our picture. For lunch we stopped at Junction Grocery, and the owner Kim allowed us to bring in our stuff and eat at her tables. Thanks Kim😊 We are now in the great state of Texas. As per our ritual we took several photos on the side of the road while motorist were driving by and wondering what in the world we were doing. This is state number five. Texas is 1/3 of the total ride across the US. Two thing happened once we entered Texas, first the hills are starting again. I will have to admit I like the flat ground for riding but the hills for the scenery. Secondly, and more importantly, we entered Verizon country and our phones are starting to work again. When we entered Texas we were riding on highway FM363. This road is well traveled by log trucks and the like. While I was riding along a lady pulled along side and rolled down her window and told me I was doing a dangerous thing. Sam told me we weren't the ones driving down the center of the road and slowing down traffic. We made it to Kirbyville and to the motel, while waiting in line to check in I was talking with a couple of guys who were asking the usual questions. I told them we started in St Augustine and he replied we hadn't gone too far. As it turns out there is a St. Augustine, Tx. When we said Florida he was a little more impressed. Today was 75' and I rode in shorts all day long and shed my coat by 9:00 am. We rode a total of 45 miles. Austin is getting closer and closer.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb