Gulf of Mexico and a sand blaster


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
September 9th 2009
Published: September 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post


Well I have spent several days with Austin. I am glad to say I am very proud of him.

Early on the first day together he inquired " Do I look different?". He did. He does.
He is looking like a man today, still my boy, but much more developed, physically and emotionally than when he departed Dec 15, 2008.

There were still glimpses of the boy, but more of the man he is becoming.

Those of you who are parents, I need not tell you of the changes that our kids progress through. Some, like this one, are hard fought. I also likely don't need to tell you that I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days.

We spent time in the local area around Biloxi, saw a couple movies, bought some books and I forced him to darken the doors of the local Starbucks.
We spent time sitting on the couch watching TV, took a trip to New Orleans and savored the local fair, and food. Participated in a "Haunted Tour" watch street performers, listened to Blues and Zydeco, and ate crocodile.. Yes he too!

There was a tense moment when he spied a person wearing a USMC 'cover' (hat) that is restricted to being worn in uniform. Austin is all in.

We travled on a 'air boat' into the swamp to see crocodiles in their own environment. Mother nature made us pay for the privilege of seeing baby crocks with a heavy rain storm... as lighting started cracking we headed in.. being in the swamp on a metal boat during a lighting storm is only something that can


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



10th September 2009

Did you check???
I hope you checked his pockets before you left the croc reserve...you KNOW how he likes those types of critters. lol You're right he sure is all grown up. Nice Daddy-O. THANKS for letting me share. Sure do love you boys!!!! XOXXOXO

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb