another day of pedaling


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Shepherd
February 18th 2011
Published: February 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have read several articles from those who have ridden across the US or have taken rather long bike journeys and they all talk about the mundane miles you have to endure while ridding. I think I am getting close to what they are talking about. I find I'm not taking nearly as many photos as I have been. It seams the highlight of the day are when I get my shower and I feel human again. I don't want to complain about this because I'm having a wonderful time but my goal is less than a week away and if rain were to pop up tomorrow I would probally ride through is rather than wait in another motel. We left rather early today because we have a long day lined out. When we stopped by a local store/resturaunt for a break Sam noticed there were 50# bags of catfish food for sale. Mary had on her bike shorts for the first time although Bob still had on his wool. We rode a total of 55 miles today. Close to the end of the day Bob called the motel to get directions. Sam thought we were going in the right direction and we took off. After ridding up hill for two miles the wrong way Bob flagged down a passing motorist and we now have to back track. Sam said I would surly have this in the bolg for the night. Now I want to make this very clear, if I was a vindictive person (which I'm not) this would have great prominace in the blog. Bob nor Mary led us up the wrong way adding and extra 4 miles to a rather long day. This was all of Sam's doing. But since I'm taking the high road, and not pointing out Sam's rather large mistake, we won't be mentioning this. Remember I'm taking the high road. The temp today was very nice. We reached 83'. When I go back home I will have nicely tanned arms and legs, my sister will be jealous. The hills in Texas are growing more predominate. Everyone we talk with say there are nice ones around Austin, and I've heard this from more than one source.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb