Historic Cemetery, San Augustine, Texas USA


Advertisement
Published: June 12th 2020
Edit Blog Post

I returned to San Augustine on US Hwy 96 in late May after a stop in Neuville. My first stop on the North side of San Augustine was the City Cemetery that started as the Anderson family cemetery. I could not find any Anderson markers cus they are very old and made of sandstone instead of durable granite. The marker I liked best was the one made of native pine wood. I found the section of the Blount family that dated back to the Republic of Texas (here and in Nacogdoches). There was a full sized "angel marker" like the one found in the Nacogdoches Oak Grove Cemetery.

Just outside of the cemetery was the old Memorial Presbyterian Church complex; now a large residence.

Then I made a stop at the Old Town Jail, now privately owned by the Stripling family...and secured with a large padlock. San Augustine had an old log jail in 1841. That was replaced by the clay brick Old Town Jail in 1884. That was replaced by what is called now the Old Jail Museum in the San Augustine Square in 1919. When the newest San Augustine Jail was completed the old jail became a very nice museum. The year the newest jail opened is unknown to me, unknown to the internet sites, and unknown to the various City of San Augustine offices I called today.

That day I visited the Old Town Jail I was happy to shoot the outside and a window or two. Then I noticed the large padlock was gone from the front door. With no "Keep Out" or "Posted" signs there I opened the door and walked in for a peek. I walked up the stairs to see pics of the Alamo and Goliad, part of the battles of independence for the Republic of Texas. Then I opened the door, with the dream catcher, and was surprised to see the light on and a old man there. It was Ray (son of Raeford) and he was happy to see me. Ray used this as his architecture office until he retired. This must be Ray's private museum and "man cave". We had a nice chat on San Augustine history. I really lucked out to see this and get a free history lesson.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

San Augustine CemeterySan Augustine Cemetery
San Augustine Cemetery

North end of Montgomery St.
San Augustine CemeterySan Augustine Cemetery
San Augustine Cemetery

Historic Marker
San Augustine CemeterySan Augustine Cemetery
San Augustine Cemetery

markers & fence
Old Town JailOld Town Jail
Old Town Jail

first floor storage
Old Town JailOld Town Jail
Old Town Jail

first floor photos
Old Town JailOld Town Jail
Old Town Jail

stairs up
Old Town JailOld Town Jail
Old Town Jail

second floor pics of The Alamo & Goliad dream weaver
Old Town JailOld Town Jail
Old Town Jail

old typewriter
Old Town JailOld Town Jail
Old Town Jail

Ray sinks hole-in-one
Old Town JailOld Town Jail
Old Town Jail

old drawing


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb