Natural Bridge Caverns, San Antonio


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
November 12th 2010
Published: March 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I am a cave troll.

Or an adventurous explorer! It was Colby's big idea to take the day off school and head to San Antonio for the day for some caving fun. He assured me Natural Bridge Caverns is the only cave worth a lick in the area (Wonder World Cave...you wander in, you wonder why you came. Ha!) Natural Bridge Caverns has an orange dinosaur mascot that as a kid I always thought was wearing Bo Derek braids, therefore I hated the dinosaur. Apparently they are just ridges on its back and not braids. My hate for 30-plus years is based on misconceptions.

The cave itself though is great to look at. It is cold in there and DAMP. I came out sweating like a piggy but not because of the strenuous hike but because of the humidity. There are plenty of stalactites and stalagmites to look at and plenty of other interesting formations to keep you busy and informed. My favorites were the Great Room and the Throne. They also took a picture of us that they assured us would make us look like bats if we framed it upside down. I wish I could of known that before I took the pic so relaxed! I took one last look before I headed out. The eerie orange glow of the place and the million of little shadows waved goodbye at me as I headed back into the light.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb