Holiday in San Antonio


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
November 15th 2011
Published: November 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Preparing to departPreparing to departPreparing to depart

Preparing to depart on road trip to Austin, the Texas Hill country, San Antonio and maybe Corpus Christi.
Making preparations for my Austin, Hill Country, San Antonio road trip.
November 14, 2011 Monday
My most necessary task this week is I MUST get 2 new front tires for my truck. I have put it off as long as I could but I guess I will have to cough up a few bucks and do it. On Wednesday I am planning on going to Austin and stay overnight with my nephew and take him to the airport Thursday morning for his Odyssey to Las Vegas and then Denver.
Not sure of my plans after that. Perhaps stay in Austin a few days or maybe even roam around the hill country a bit after that ending up in San Antonio on the 22. Will see how things go I guess.
I have booked a Suite at the Studio 6 in San Antonio on I-10 West from the 22 to the 29th November, for the weekly rate of about $250 with tax at this time. It is about a 10 minute drive to downtown and the River Walk from there and much cheaper than anywhere downtown, even with figuring in paying $8 a day for parking downtown. The room at Studio
6 has a queen size bed, full size refrigerator and stove. I have stayed there several times before and it is quiet and clean. They also provide some dishes and utensils but I usually use my own. And my own towels as the first set is all you get unless you want to go by the office for more.
On the 25th San Antonio Is having the lighting of the lights on the River Walk at 7PM with illuminated floats, bands, etc. on the River Walk.
On the 26th from 6:30 to 9: 30 PM there will be Christmas caroling on cruising boats.
Pretty much till the end of the year there will be one event after the other in San Antonio.
There is so much to see and do in San Antonio one could easily invest an entire month and not see everything even without the festivities. And this is the time of year to go. November – January when the weather is nice. Most people visit San Antonio in the summer from June-August. If they deliberately set out to pick the worst time of year to come to Texas they could hardly do a better job of it. Summers are mercilessly hot and humid on the Texas Gulf Coast.
As for my preparations - I went by Discount tires and they were packed. There is either some sort of sale or all the Aggie dads are getting their student kids some tires for Christmas. There were lots of people standing around with that look people have of waiting and getting ripped off. That’s why I hate buying anything automotive in A&M. The students don’t care because “daddy’s paying anyway” and so it messes it up for the rest of us. As usual when confronted with a time and money wasting situation I just pass on by. I’ll just go elsewhere or to another Discount Tire in Austin or Georgetown.
Tuesday November 15, 2011
Today I caught up on washing all my clothes and repacking them and sorting out my maps and notes on Texas and San Antonio, Austin, etc. and putting away all my info on Colorado and New Mexico, etc. for now.
I honestly cannot see how some people can say that they don’t have anything to do after they retire. I have been busy on one project or another since I got back from my last road trip and now have been busy all yesterday and today getting final preparations done.
And I still haven’t gotten my two front tires replaced !!!!
Oh well……guess they will just have to go a little further….I will change them in Austin or San Antonio. I can’t complain though. I did the math on it today and those two tires have run 89,303 miles. So I guess I got my money’s worth out of them.
Here is a list of events in San Antonio I am looking at going to:
November 19 – January 6th – Light the way at the University of the Incarnate Word uiw.edu

November 25th – the Ford Holiday Parade – The lights go on at 7PM with 1.4 million led lights on the River walk. Illuminated floats, bands, and lavishly costumed participants.

November 26th – December 18th - 6:30 – 9:30 Christmas caroling on cruising boats.

November 26th and 27th – Holly Daze – Arneson River Theatre – Holiday dance and musical entertainment.

November 27th – December 4th Mariachi Vargas Extravaganza – a slew of Mariachi related events.

Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum – 318 E. Houston St.
Buckhornmuseum.com rangermuseum.com

Main Plaza – San Fernando Cathedral – Music - free Wifi and public restrooms.

Dicks last resort – A restaurant with attitude_ 406 Navarro St.

The Original Mexican Restaurant – Best Tex Mex as far as I am concerned. Open 24/7 - 102 West Crockett on the River Walk

50 foot holiday tree in Alamo Plaza

The Zoo, Japanese Sunken Gardens, Botanical Gardens, some of the missions and whatever else I turn up. I may stay 2 week. We’ll see.

They have tickets and seating on the riverwalk for the water parades but I usually watch them from the bridges going over the riverwalk for free. I bring a folding chair and small ice chest with bottled water and some snacks in my backpack.













Advertisement



16th November 2011

Traveler trip
you have a busy days ahead , roam the hill country sounds promising we will see you later have a good trip

Tot: 0.48s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 69; dbt: 0.177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb