Way Out West 2021


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
September 9th 2021
Published: September 14th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast this morning was to be provided by Wyndham Resorts at our sales pitch. When we got there we were told no coffee because of Covid. Now anyone who knows Terry Wilson knows he needs a cup of coffee to get started each day. I must say he behaved very nicely on only juice. I was hoping this would be short.

As soon as we sat down I told the salesman we really weren’t interested in making any kind of purchase, we were only interested in the gifts. He did cut his presentation somewhat short and we were in our way in about an hour.

First up was to find a cup of coffee. McDonalds to the rescue!!! We found the McDonalds right around the corner from The Alamo.

We then headed off to The Alamo. First off the price was perfect….it was free! We did give a donation once inside!! Secondly, so many people told us it was a waste of time…it was so small. None of us felt that way. We truly enjoyed the tour, looking around outside, and talking to people.

It was nearly lunch time and we typically have our lunch already prepared in the cooler. Today we wanted to try out a historic place near our condo called The Buckhorn Saloon and Museum. It was the place where Teddy Roosevelt recruited his Rough Riders and where Pancho Villa is rumored to have planned the Mexican Revolution.

Seventeen year old Albert Friedrich decided to open a bar across the street from his current place of employment. He knew those coming off the trails usually didn’t have much money so he accepted horns and antlers in exchange for a drink. Many of them remain there today. His wife also accepted rattlesnake rattles which she used in her works of art. The Buckhorn opened in 1881 but was moved a couple times. It is now in its modified, original location.

It was pretty hot in San Antonio and the guys wanted to take a break. Karen and I wanted to walk more of the Riverwalk and do some shopping. I put Terry in charge of doing our laundry and off we went.

There’s a historic part of the Riverwalk known as La Villita. It is an artist’s community now and is filled with shops and eateries. In its 300 year history it is considered the first community of San Antonio. It was also the cannon line in the Battle of The Alamo.

While walking around the shops, Karen and I encountered an elderly woman running a shop and struck up a conversation. She was delightful. She used an antique cash register, keep records in a notebook, and could tell you when and where she bought just about every item in her store. I asked to take her picture and told her she was one of the most interesting people we had met so far on this trip. I figured she was in her 90’s.

As we were making our purchases, the shop was empty, I was telling her about my mother and how she reminded me of her….opinionated, stubborn, her own boss! She said, “I’ll tell you who I am. My name is Jean Pace. My husband was the founder of Pace salsa/picante products!”

She told us a little about her husband. He had passed away and how she had a hard time going on without him. She told of how people wondered why someone her age would work in a shop everyday, but she needed to do Something to pass the time. She was truly delightful.

When I got back to the condo I researched Pace and everything she told us was right on. I never did find a picture but I found enough info to believe that she was being truthful. She made for an interesting day!

We had dinner reservations at the Tower of Americans Chart House Restaurant which is almost the top of the tower. It is a rotating restaurant and makes a full rotation every 45 minutes. It was one of the best meals I’ve ever eaten. Ed, Karen, and I had steak which was to Die for. Terry had coconut shrimp. His presentation was awesome and everything on the plate was edible. Of course I took a picture.

Following our meal we went to the observation deck. This tower is much like the Space Needle in Seattle. Both were built for their city’s worlds fair. Seattle in 1962, San Antonio in 1968. I was in San Antonio in 1968 for the worlds fair with my parents and my brothers.

We walked back to the Riverwalk and boarded one of the canal boats for a nighttime ride along the river. It was awesome. What a beautiful way to end our vacation!!

Tomorrow we load up and begin the trek back to West Virginia. It’s 22 hours back home so we decided to chunk it up into 3 days. We will travel through Louisiana, Mississippi, and Alabama as those are the last three states in the lower 48 that I haven’t visited. It’s been a great trip!! BUT I’m ready to get back home!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb