Heading to San Antonio


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
February 27th 2019
Published: February 28th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


blog 02-27-19 Heading to San Antonio

There was a rude awakening for me this morning when I looked out the window and saw the tail lights on in my car. How did that happen! All I can think of is when I turned off the lights last night after the movie I must have hit the parking lights by mistake. I tried to start the car but of course there wasn't enough juice for that. Now what, I had to be in O'Connor about 35 min away to have the oil changed in my camper at 9 am and it was 7 am.

I got the jumper cables from the trunk and the plan was to ask the campground people for a jump start when they came to work. Just then a car came by and I asked if he could help me out. So in just 2 min the car was running and recharging the battery and the stranger was happy to be a hero. I love campers.

I left the car running for about 45 min then moved it to a spot where hooking up would be easy. That hurtle jumped and by 8 am we were on rt 71 west to the dealership.

All went well and we headed for San Antonio by 10 am. I opted to take a smaller road to hook up with RT 10 and it proved to be an adventure. The speed limit was 70 on a curvy 2 lane road through rolling hills with ranches, fences and cattle. My speed was about 58 and that was fast enough especially when there was construction. Well, the construction turned into a dirt road where 35 was fast. It only lasted a few miles but enough to transform my car into a mud cake. Picture. Thank you Texas red/brown dirt, I could barely get the door open.

I think I took the unscenic tour of San Antonio on my way to the campground which is in the city limits. The sun was out and it was warm so I took Watson to the dog park as soon as we parked on our site. The dog park was very close and nicely grassed with obstacles for dogs to go over and under. Watson ran around to catch his ball til he was panting hard so we headed back to set up camp.

I had a car to make drivable at least clean the windows and lights. There is no car washing allowed but I couldn't drive it the way it was.

Then it was to the office to get a control box for the cable for the tv and 3 pages of instructions as to how to install it. OH goodness, help!! Picture. I did it the hard way I'm sure but I have tv. Hooray...

After a load of wash and walking Watson I was exhausted and settled in for the night. Hope to do The Alamo tomorrow or the River Walk..


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb