Death of Old Blue, Nacogdoches County, Texas USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Nacogdoches
August 1st 2020
Published: August 1st 2020
Edit Blog Post

Well, the clutch burnt out on Old Blue. The cost of repairs far exceeds the cash value of Blue. It is not RIP yet.

Old Blue served me well for 200,000 miles. That includes over 2,000 miles of off-road in the wilderness (back-country) trails of the desert and mountains of Western USA. This includes three trips down the trail of Diamond Creek to the bottom of the Grand Canyon (by way of the Native American Reservation at Peach Springs, Arizona), where I made camp by the Colorado River. We made a good team of man and machine to beat the odds and pass many survival tests on very bad trails where I could not walk out to civilization for help.

It is possible that Old Blue could be a Phoenix and rise from her ashes to live again. Blue was towed to a very good repair shop in Nacogdoches for possible repairs. Cuz of the pandemic, the cost on many repair parts have suddenly jumped over 500%; putting repairs out of my price range on my social security.

If this works out for my team with Old Blue, she will be my ride to about 200 KM radius from my humble homestead, and maybe more.

Great news! Thanks to the great affordable work done by Barrett's Automotive in Nacogdoches, Old Blue has rose from her ashes wanting to team up with me again!

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



3rd August 2020

Dear Old Blue
I enjoyed in reading about your journey. I hope you save the Old Blue. It is an art itself, in my opinion.
3rd August 2020

Old Blue
Thanks Sandra. If Blue can be fixed for $1000 USD she will rise from the ashes for my local travel under 200 KM from home. In progress is my purchase of replacement old truck with four wheel drive, great for off road on trails in our "Four Corners" states.
3rd August 2020

Sad
I am so sorry to see this! I hope the repair shop can work a miracle!
3rd August 2020

Old Blue
Thanks for your concern. If truck can be fixed for $1000.00 USD, she will be back on the road for any driving under 200 KM from home.
17th August 2020

thanks doc
Old Blue is fixed but my last great travel adventure will be in "New White" with four wheel drive.

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb