Houston, we have arrived.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
June 20th 2014
Published: June 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

My stop in Houston was really for one thing, to see the lovely Natalie. Houston itself is a widespread sprawling mass of industry and houses, there was not much I wanted to see here in the city. It was great however to see Natalie, meet her little boy Oz (adorable!) and see their lovely home. Natalie and her husband, Ofer, also were fantastic sources of knowledge of where would be good for me to stop off on my travels, particularly in the parks. The giant US map was pulled out and many circles were made.

With only one day really in Houston, I was more interested in getting out of the city and seeing what was outside. Ofer very kindly played host and we set on a bit of an exploration together. 1st stop. A house completely decorated in beer cans! Shiny shiny in the sky!! Next we ventured down to the San Bernard National Wildlife Refuge. After a 10 minute walk in the oak woods we quickly retreated back to the car as were being eaten alive by giant Mosquitos and sand flies. Ouch! I now have a brand new collection of bites all over my back. Lucky me. So the rest of the wander through the park was by car. Windows shut.

Being so close to the sea, we took the Blue Way Highway which takes you across a couple of sandbar type islands just off the coast. While the beach itself is trashed from car tracks, thick with seaweed and lined with murky brown waters, once you were away from the populated areas, the sea did as sea does and still relaxes you. But it certainly is not the best beach I have or will ever see.

Knowing I wanted to compare the Tennessee BBQ with the Texan BBQ, we headed over to a popular BBQ restaurant. Of course I had the ribs. With sauce. But. I was disappointed. Texas, you're going to have to up your game. But you did introduce me to giant armadillos that have been cross bread with long horn. That in itself was picture worthy.

Taking full advantage of a lazy morning and a 10am lie in (first one yet this holiday!), I had a relaxing lunch with Nat and Ofer and headed off to Austin. Just a tad exciting. Bring it! Let's see why Austin is weird!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb