When Staycation Makes Good Scents - Lavender Ridge Farms


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Gainesville
September 22nd 2012
Published: January 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Black goldBlack goldBlack gold

JR Ewing was no where to be found. This is by the entrance.
Have passport will travel? No, it didn't happen in 2011 and it didn't happen in 2012. It's not because I didn't want to do some globe hopping outside the good ol USA. A staycation wasn't exactly my first choice, but when I was laid off on 3/31/11, had a Brain Aneurysm on 5/28/11, and was laid off [again on 3/1/12, it was like the air was let out of my purse strings. Yep, I'm still a little bit grumpy for not being able to travel, after all, there's still 100-150 places that I want to see before I kick the bucket.

My friend, Dianne suggested we get the hell out of dodge (Big Dallas), and check out Lavender Ridge Farms. When she mentioned that there'd be some wine tasting, and a guitar player at the farm, I thought why not?

Off we we went. Ok, my portable GPS navigator had a bit of a fun time with those farm to market roads, nonetheless, we got there.

I didn't know what to expect, after all we were still in Texas, it wasn't going to be exactly like the lavender fields in France or other places in Europe.

Lavender
C'mon Over to Lavender Ridge FarmC'mon Over to Lavender Ridge FarmC'mon Over to Lavender Ridge Farm

Y'all, we're located in Texas, after a visit with us, you'd think you're in France.
Ridge Farms is 8 miles east of Gainesville, Texas, about an hour's drive from Dallas. Originally a strawberry & melon farm in the 1920’s & 1930’s, Lavender Ridge Farms opened in 2006 as a lavender, cut-flower, and herb farm.

The farm has over 2 acres of lavender planted, new herbs, flowers, and plants depending on the time of the year.

When we got to the farm, one of the first things we did was have lunch. I had a chicken salad sandwich, ice tea, and topped it off with lavender cheesecake! Even the ice tea had a hint of lavender in it, and I must say, it was delicious!! The cheesecake, a piece of heaven!

We walked around, and saw a variety of animals including: chickens, goats, rabbits, birds, and a rooster. Monarch butterflies would pay us a visit too. Yes, I felt a bit of heaven and was so glad to be outdoors and a little closer to nature! I enjoyed being in the lavender fields, taking pictures of the blooms and even the bees buzzing around, although I did keep a watchful eye so I wouldn't get stung.

I enjoyed the artwork, including the chair tree. Oh, the signs in the bathroom, no wonder my bathroom break took a few minutes, I was thoroughly entertained by them.

The gift shop is small but a delight. I bought a small lavender sachet that I can tuck in my computer bag, that way when I'm stressed at work, I pull out the sachet, take a deep whiff or two, and viola, stress is gone!

I had a wonderful time at Lavender Ridge Farms, the drive is worth it. Yes, I felt a bit of Provence, yet I was still in Texas. I look forward to going back there in spring to see an abundance of purple blooms!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

In the restroomIn the restroom
In the restroom

In the restroom, no magazine or paper is needed, the signs will entertain you!

MusicianMusician
Musician

I loved his music - it was soothing!

ChickensChickens
Chickens

I loved seeing the different types of chickens.
RoosterRooster
Rooster

This is one pretty rooster
Lavender flowersLavender flowers
Lavender flowers

Most of the flowers were gone, nonetheless, it's still beautiful!
Lavender fieldsLavender fields
Lavender fields

Around late spring is when the blooms are full


Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 91; dbt: 0.1586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb