2012 Road Trip #3: Texas Hill Country Parks!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Fredericksburg
April 23rd 2012
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Road Trip #3! I had the Texas Hill Country in my mind this time.

First stop this cloudy day was Pedernales Falls State Park, a great place for hiking eroded river beds. The falls are small but form little pools and streams that have worn away the rock. It’s fascinating to hike through here. But beware the flash floods! The main draw of the park is this area where people fish and hike. Swimming is not allowed due to the flash flooding that can come with little to no warning.

Afterwards I went over to LBJ State Park and National Historic Site. They have some cool old timey cabins with wildflowers growing around them. They also have a working farm and cattle grazing. I could easily see why LBJ loves this place so much. A replica of his childhood home and school-house are at the property. You can also see where LBJ and Lady Bird are buried underneath some peaceful trees in the park. They offer a tour of the Texas White House where LBJ lived but I decided not to take it.

My last stop was Enchanted Rock State Natural Area. This was my second foray into The Rock and my aim was to climb it as quickly as possible. I was out of breath before I reached a quarter of the way up. It is deceptively big. You always think the end is right over the horizon but the horizon extends forever. I finally made it all the way to the top huffing and puffing. I am often reminded of how out of shape I am whenever I go on these hikes.

I watched the day turn to night while up on the rock then made my way down to drive back home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The river forms neat pools.The river forms neat pools.
The river forms neat pools.

That you aren't allowed to swim in!


Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb