The Great Rotarian Couple: Gilbert and Linda Brown


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dallas » Uptown
December 20th 2006
Published: January 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We left Hawkins after the Rotary meeting for Dallas. It was our last stop after almost a month of traveling. I don’t like to drive in Dallas and we could have saved about three hours of driving by avoiding Dallas but Linda and I wanted to see some great Rotary friends named Gilbert and Linda Brown.

Gilbert and I were fellow Centennial Governors in 2004-05 Rotary year. I not only liked Gilbert personally but I have the utmost respect for his leadership abilities. One of the things I wanted to accomplish by visiting with Gilbert was talking about his Rotary year. During our term in office all of us Governors from zone 25-26 met in Scottsdale Arizona and I remembered Gilbert talking about how his year was going. I was impressed with his planning and cooperation he was receiving in his district. I wanted to talk to him about Rotary.

My Linda admired Linda Brown very much and in the Spouse meetings Linda remembered Linda Brown as “a real lady.”

We only had an hour to spare when we got there and instead of talking Rotary, we ended up talking more about our lives and especially Grandkids. It seems the Browns and Converses have a lot in common along those lines. With my Linda, this is her world so the hour went fast.

Thanks Gilbert and Linda Brown for the great hour we spent with you.

It took us three hours to get out of the Dallas traffic. I only made one wrong turn. I realized I was going the wrong way but found out the good people of Dallas made a special U-turn lane for us Kansas drivers. The traffic did not thin out until we crossed the Oklahoma border. We got home at 2:30AM. It was great to be home.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Gilbert & Linda Brown House 3Gilbert & Linda Brown House 3
Gilbert & Linda Brown House 3

Showing Gilbert's backyard office.


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 15; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb