Living in Dalhart, Northern Texas.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dalhart
April 25th 2011
Published: April 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Dalhart, Tx - Oklahoma, Oak

The roads are so straight is scary, no bends, nothing. The I 40 goes on forever.

Additional maps: Mclaren

The Road outside my "Trailer"The Road outside my "Trailer"The Road outside my "Trailer"

The first bend is about 25 miles up the road

Hi from Oklahoma



How long have I been here?
Let me think, arrived in the USA Wednesday 13th and I'm here in El Reno, Oklahoma, about 25 miles west of Oklahoma City. We are currently holed up because of the rain but should be back to work tomorrow.

Well, I think the guy at the US Embassy in Auckland wasn't far off when he said that I don't need to go to the moon after going to, Dalhart, Northern Texas.

It's really really flat with no land marks. In fact unlike the moon there are a few buildings but nothing of real architectual merit.

This my truck! Me and my are truck are getting to know each other. Most times the truck wins. With some coaching I'm not as scared of the gear changes and we are getting along just fine as our relationship builds. Well, me and the truck need to be friends because we are together 12 hours a day NON-STOP. I must say that P22 (the name of my truck) is very patient with me. Now I have got to the stage of not fighting the gear stick, have relaxed, now understand the rev.
My "Home"My "Home"My "Home"

My bedroom is at the front facing the road
counter and the speed. You see we don't use the clutch once we are rolling so we need to be friends 'cos graunching gears are hard work, believe me.

I'm going to publish this to see if it works. I will be back soon as. Here goes


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My HomeMy Home
My Home

More photos to come of the interior
The other "Trailers"The other "Trailers"
The other "Trailers"

They are all on wheels so you don't need a building permit. Very spaceous inside. 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a large lounge.
P22 My truckP22 My truck
P22 My truck

Me and my truck when we first met
Loading SilageLoading Silage
Loading Silage

Fully loaded p22 and me weigh around 70,000 lbs (30 tonnes). When the load is we we weigh 90,000 lbs (40 tonnes)
P22's TrailerP22's Trailer
P22's Trailer

The doors at the back open and shut automatically from the cab


26th April 2011

Neighbours
Hi Nigel Your blog is coming through now. It all sounds as far removed form life in NZ as you could be. Tell me about the other people who do this kind of work. Any other intrepid antipodean explorers? Do you ever struggle to stay awake? Cheers Mary
26th April 2011

Great to see you are all set up.Be gentle on those gears.Cheers,Gunnee.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb