Bosquillas Canyon to Chisos Basin


Advertisement
Published: February 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Chisos Basin CampgroundChisos Basin CampgroundChisos Basin Campground

The Chisos basin campground is at an elevation of 5401 feet
Feb 18 -Boquillas Canyon - Chisos Basin
The afternoon of the 17th February at the Rio Grande Village Campground had been in the 90's. Too hot for me. So I had decided I was going to spend the next day or days at the Chisos Basin Campground in the center of the park at 5401 feet. I figured I would go hike the trail into Boquillas Canyon and then go to the hot springs. Then over to the Chisos Basin campground to get out of the heat for the evening and night. I went to the Rio Grande village Laundromat and sat on the bench, plugged in and sent out some emails. Then I drove over to the Canyon and hiked in and back out in the heat and then was in no mood for another 1.7 mile each way to the hot springs in the heat. So I drove back west past Panther Jct and stopped at the gas station there to top off my tanks at $3.66 a gallon with no card slot so you had to go inside first to wait in line to give the attendant your deposit, then go back and fill up, then go back in again to get your change. Of course with a mentally challenged clerk incapable of multitasking.
After getting topped off with gas I drove over to the Chisos Basin campground and got a site. There sites have a shared water outlet with no electricity and the bathrooms only have cold water. Still the campground was in a very beautiful mountain basin with a great view. And it was cool, something very much appreciated after the heat of the Rio Grande Village. I spent a very pleasant afternoon and evening there and then the next morning went over to the Castolon campground and the Santa Elena Canyon.
While I was at the Chisos Basin campground I drove back about a half mile on the road I came in and turned right up the hill to the Chisos Mountain Lodge. There is also a visitor center and a store. They said they had internet at the store but I was told that I could go up onto the outside deck of the lodge and use their open internet connection. On the deck they have some tables but also some chairs by the outside wall of the deck which have electrical outlets. I'd have bought some coffee or something if someone had asked me but no one asked me. The view from the deck is spectacular.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 26; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb