Catching Up


Advertisement
Published: March 12th 2019
Edit Blog Post

blog 03-07-19 Catching Up

I have been too tired at night to write a detailed blog so I am trying to catch up here for the last few days. I have had a terrific time exploring the park, photographing the many flowers and cactus that are here and finding out more about the park.

It was formed from volcanic activity and the mountains show the evidence. I went on the scenic tour, a road that leads to Saint Elena Canyon where the Rio Grande cut through the mountain. The paved road stops at the canyon and a dirt road will take you to the west side of the park but it is not suitable for your regular car. So I went back the same way I came and enjoyed the view in the other direction.

03-08-19 It's moving day already! I was sure I had another day here but not to be. I got up at 4:30 am to see if I could photograph the milky way but it was cloudy in the east so not this time. I packed up, said good-bye to the nice neighbors that I've spent some time with and headed north then west. The trip wasn't long but seemed like going to a different world. It was much dryer on that side of the park and being outside the park had some businesses and homes so it seemed crowded.

The campground was fine and the people super nice. I toured around a bit to get the lay of the land and went back and collapsed. The internet here is very good and there is cell service hooray!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb