Hurricane Ike - I've evacuated


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Beaumont
September 12th 2008
Published: September 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Friends,

I have been writing on Associated Content about my preparations for evacuation from Hurricane Ike. Now that we are in full blown mode, I will write here too. Maybe I won't bore you, but try to let you know that I am safe.

One link to Associated Contact is http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/1026000/hurricane_ike_has_made_our_work_site.html

I hope y'all are too. Call me !

*******************

A mandatory evacuation was called early this morning for my county and almost all counties around me.

I was out of bed at 4:00. I repacked the things that I had unpacked from Gustav's evacuation just a week and a half ago. Of course I had to add some new things. Most evacuation things taken previously were still packed. Then I had to literally cram it all into my truck. I did and left at 8:00, an hour after my planned departure time. Six and half hours later, with a few unsettling traffic bottlenecks and only one bathroom break, I made 'landfall' in the Dallas area.

I had not heard much information about the hurricane since midway on my trip. A call to a friend who has elected to stay in Beaumont during this ordeal told me that the estimated landfall had not really changed: anywhere from Freeport to Galveston. Still predicted to travel inland (Dallas area too) after the fact.

I have been glued to the weather channel on TV since. Sounds like scare tactics, but maybe it's time to scare folks out of their homes (including my friend).

I am losing Internet connection off and on so I'll close for now.

Be safe all.


Advertisement



12th September 2008

brazoria county, pearland tx
Pat, We're boarded up, generator is ready, 150 gallons of fuel, enough food for Cox's army. Randy
14th September 2008

Pearland, Texas !
Randy, I pray that y'all 'weathered' the storm without too bad of consequence. Let me know. Next time, come to Dallas with me!

Tot: 0.414s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb