Sea Cows, Tree Houses, and Family


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
January 28th 2017
Published: February 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

I played with manatees in Crystal River, haven't done that for about 8 years. It's a rare and exciting experience, but the place has changed. Some people take the eco-conservation attitude to absurd levels. I got yelled at (literally) by some dingus for swimming beneath the surface of the water. Snorkeling is permitted, but apparently the snorkel must always be breaching the surface. Because people diving down to get a closer look is going to cause certain extinction.


I couch surfed in Tallahassee for a few nights, reliving the college experience with some very welcoming hosts. I was lucky enough to see my aunt and uncle in Mississippi. More more love love! We had a little adventure getting lost in a swamp with the dogs. Family is important, it's you're identity. Love your family!! Between these destinations, I stopped in southern Georgia to experience the Hostel in the Forest for a few nights. I lived in a tree house, used a composting toilet, and showered in the sunlight/moonlight. It's a very unique place, run by hippies for decades. A squirrel snuck into my tree house at night and robbed me of a banana and some peanuts. The air is
Outdoor showerOutdoor showerOutdoor shower

WITH HOT WATER!!
still and the forest is so quiet.



My last US stop was in Austin, to see an old friend I had met whilst living in New Zealand, and to see my favorite person on earth, me Mum! She flew down from Ohio to spend a few days with me before I left the country. Bless that woman. We always have a good time together and share nearly everything with one another. One side note: don't go into Ojos Locos in Austin with your mom. You wouldn't know from the outside, but inside it's like a Hispanic Hooters mixed with a strip club.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Hope Outdoor Gallery in AustinHope Outdoor Gallery in Austin
Hope Outdoor Gallery in Austin

Shitloads of art. Art on top of art.. call it graffiti??


Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb