East Texas - Day 1


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
May 30th 2011
Published: May 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We left home yesterday and headed north to Austin. (Yes, I know this is supposed to be an East Texas road trip.) As some of you may know, my birthday was Saturday. Sunday was the best time to get together to celebrate. We met at Joe’s duplex at 6:00 planning to drive to Matt’s El Rancho for dinner. Unbeknownst to me, the guys had made plans for Andy to bring his limo (Andy drives limousines in Austin) and take us all over to Matt’s. What a wonderful surprise and what a wonderful evening. More tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Butch & KayButch & Kay
Butch & Kay

On the town!
Matt's El RanchoMatt's El Rancho
Matt's El Rancho

I really enjoy eating at Matt's. In the early 80's, I used to office across the street from Matt's original location in downtown Austin. I would eat lunch their a couple of times each week. Matt Sr. ran the original place located in an old house. Matt Jr. ran the new bigger place next door. I would go in & be greeted by Matt Sr. at the door, place my order (a beef burrito smothered in queso), & Jimmy the cook would go to work!


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb